Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#643377 08/25/22 07:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 13
Hello!

I have a CIX670 that I'm slowing migrating off of. Users screaming and kicking all along the way. Every line I have dealt with so far came in on a T1 with a 3 or 4 digit DID. I've managed (with much help here) to figure out how to deal with these in Network eManager to get them over to the VOIP appliance. I've now got to deal with what I think are analog lines that connect to a couple of cards that are either RSTU or BSTU cards. I'm guessing that's what they are by looking at System->Card Assignment. Not sure what the difference is between the R and the B.

Anyways, how can I find any information in eManager about what those lines are? I'm working with the big three letter telco to try and identify the circuit...but that's moving slow. I think I know the phone numbers tied to these, but not sure. I'm not in a position to do any scream tests right now either.

Thanks in advance.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,645
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,645
Likes: 4
RSTU and BSTU are for analog stations, such as faxes, conference phones, or other analog phones.
If there are any analog lines in the PBX, they would be most likely connected to an RCOU.

Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2019
Posts: 13
You are correct. Walked my lazy self over there and there are two RCOU cards, a 2 port and a 4 port. They cables they connect to go through a bajillion (I counted) junction blocks...I have no idea where they physically go at this point.

I'll try with a better toner next change I get. Is there a way in eManager to figure out what these ports are or how they're being used?

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,645
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,645
Likes: 4
If you have a T1 or PRI, it isn't typical to have that many active lines. They could have been there before an upgrade.

Anyway in Network eManager you can look at Trunks - Trunk Assignments to see which are programmed. If you have an older T1, then you may also see 24 lines for the T1. If you have a PRI (more common), then you would only see the RCOU analog lines.

Assuming you have only analog lines and a PRI, from a phone dial #7001 to pickup line 1 directly. Call your cell to check the phone number. Use #7002 for line 2, etc..

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 27
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 27
keep in mind the RCOU cards each support 2 lines per "port"... 12 analog lines seems like a lot, for a system that's got a T1


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,739
Posts636,410
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
aaronazatian, bg6214, Jigger, mkpgt, willtech
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 9
jsaad 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (nectec), 16 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5