Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#643927 12/15/22 03:21 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,769
Likes: 7
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,769
Likes: 7
I have a customer with an OS7200 that is slowly migrating to an new install Avaya IP Office. I have the two systems linked via peer SIP trunks and with some creative routing have 4 digit dialing between systems. Currently outgoing calls go out on SIP trunks registered in the Samsung KSU. Outgoing calls placed on Avaya handsets route out thru the Samsung with no issue. The biggest problem is with incoming calls and Caller ID. It's sort of like the two systems don't quite speak the same lingo. Different accents, so to speak.

Incoming calls are answered by the Samsung SVMi 20 voicemail card. Calls transferred to Avaya extensions transfer to the extension, but Caller ID says 'Anonymous', while the proper CID shows on Samsung extensions as you would expect.

Extension to extension calls show the Avaya 'Full Name' as the calling party on a Samsung extension. while Avaya displays only the extension number from a Samsung extension.

These two systems are linked almost the same way two Samsung systems would be linked over SPNet, but not quite. I've had SPNet systems I've service in the past with total transparency as far as CID issues. There must be some setting that I've missed or some box that needs to be checked/unchecked to make Caller ID a little more accurate. I'm sure it has something to do with the way my peer tie trunk is configured. Any help or ideas would be appreciated.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
There are some cli settings in transfer in system options in dm from memory.
I vaguely recall there are some vm cli options as well

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,769
Likes: 7
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,769
Likes: 7
The biggest issue seems to be the OS7200 doesn't send station names to the Avaya. The Avaya sends extension number and station names to the Samsung with no trouble owing to flexibility in how the SIP trunks behave.

This isn't really my idea of a good time.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,968
Likes: 3
You could try to put the station names in the sip alias field in the cli tables. Though then you have to change the name in 2 places.

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,769
Likes: 7
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,769
Likes: 7
Tried that, no joy. I'd really prefer if the customer just fully migrate to the Avaya at this point. I'm trying hard not to make this integration TOO seamless which goes against my internal 'gotta make this work' mentality.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.

Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,833
Posts636,791
Members49,651
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
AWhite, jnimmick, MarkTPN
Newest Members
Gtownpaper, Lazlo, devben, bubblegum, Marjan Shaw
49,650 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
ramo 13
pvj 11
Toner 9
dans 5
Who's Online Now
4 members (Toner, Carl Navarro, machinegod, Curlycord), 235 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5