Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
TIE Trunk Settings?
#85754 07/31/07 05:46 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 560
Toolie Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 560
I removed a Legend system from service to install a new NEC phone system. The existing system had a 400EM card with a TIE trunk to another site. I was wondering if there is any way I can use the console phone on the old system to access the programming and find out the settings of the trunk. I cant seem to get my TIE trunk to connect to the other end.

Haven't worked on much Legend stuff before, so any suggestions would be much appreciated.

BTW it is a release 7 system.

Thanks!!!

Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
Re: TIE Trunk Settings?
#85755 07/31/07 05:49 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,640
Moderator-NEC
*****
Offline
Moderator-NEC
*****
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,640
You would need the 355AF adapter to get into it.

Then you can either use the software to do a trunk printout, or do a printout from the console and capture it to the PC via the SMDR port.

Re: TIE Trunk Settings?
#85756 07/31/07 05:58 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,275
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,275
Did they program the Legend with SPM software? If so, you would be able to do a "print" (actually a text capture) of the programming parameters, either the entire system, or selected sections like trunks, Uniform Dialing Plan, etc.

Re: TIE Trunk Settings?
#85757 07/31/07 07:09 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 560
Toolie Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 560
I suppose if I dont have the SPM software, then I cant access it from my PC anyway. I was hoping I couldl find a way to examine the settings of the 400EM card by looking at something in the System Progam from the console.

It appears to me that it is an option to program the system from the console, I just don't know how to access it.

Also, any info about the 400Em card in general might be helpful. I found some info on the card, but I would be interested to find the connector pinout to see if it sheds any light on my dillema.

Thanks for the quick replies, and by all measns guys, keep em coming.

I have had more questions answered on this board than in all my "tech support" calls combined!

Thanks again!

Re: TIE Trunk Settings?
#85758 08/01/07 06:24 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,921
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,921
The 400EM module supports Type I and Type 5 format, which will also partially determine your wiring scheme. Type I uses a Transmit pair, a Receive pair, Ear, Mouth and a Signal Ground (ground is absolutely, positively critical). Type 5 simply uses two pair and is more popular in the U.K. and such.

The signaling format is set by the DIP switches in the front of the module. See pages 2-35 through 2-38 (Adobe Acrobat pages 100-103) in https://support.avaya.com/edoc/docs/legend/leg61in1.pdf to determine what the positions mean.

Let's start there. I'm looking for a wiring diagram. If one can't be found, I'll show you how to use a multimeter and a lineman's test set to determine the leads.


"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers.", Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM (1943)
Re: TIE Trunk Settings?
#85759 08/01/07 06:45 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,921
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,921
Pin Out:

1 - T1 RX
2 - R1 RX
3 - Ear
4 - Ring TX
5 - Tip TX
6 - Mouth
7 - Unused
8 - Unused

I was mistaken about one of the pins being ground. However, Wink-Start analog trunks (which is very likely what this is) flake out or fail without a proper ground reference.


"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers.", Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM (1943)
Re: TIE Trunk Settings?
#85760 08/01/07 07:15 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 560
Toolie Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 560
Thanks Dagwood! That's just the info I was hoping to get. As a matter of fact, I came accross a pinout reference for the 400EM card elsewhere and was just going to post to see if it was correct. It matches the pinout you referenced.

I think I probably have enough info now to take a stab at getting my circuit set up in the new system. I have a couple of variables yet, but I can play with that a little until I get it right.

I left the existing connector attached to the TIE trunk interface, so now that I know the card pinout, I should be able to figure out which pairs are which!

I will post again when I get the circuit running so we can all have a good excuse to have a celebratory cool one. :toast: Thanks again to all for your input!

Re: TIE Trunk Settings?
#85761 08/01/07 07:58 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,921
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,921
Regardless of whether it's an NEC, Nortel or other PBX brand, the E goes to E and the M goes to M. But because of slightly different interpretations of the T/R and T1/R1, these pair may need to be reversed. If you seize the circuit and don't have audio, then flip T and R with T1 and R1.


"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers.", Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM (1943)
Re: TIE Trunk Settings?
#85762 08/01/07 08:06 AM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 560
Toolie Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 560
Good advice! Thanks.

Re: TIE Trunk Settings?
#85763 08/06/07 06:16 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 560
Toolie Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 560
Hooray for me! The circuit is up and running correctly.

You guys (especially Dagwoodsystems) were right on target with your advice.

Thanks again!!!!!!!


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
CenturyLink Rebrands Three Ways.
by dexman - 09/19/20 10:44 PM
SV 9100 CP 10
by teldata1 - 09/18/20 05:10 PM
Need 4 - wire ring coil for C4A ringer
by Ray Mar - 09/18/20 04:25 PM
System needs reboot for trunks to work
by RM SYSTEMS - 09/18/20 12:39 PM
Avaya IPO
by bditech - 09/17/20 09:07 PM
Who's Online Now
22 members (nortelvoip, RATHER BE FISHING, hbiss, justbill, Touch Tone Tommy, dexman, MooreTel, BobRobert, hitechcomm, Gary S., STS E, Professor Shadow, BrianS, ffej010, Darrel Mullins, Carl Navarro, Ruben, Memphisribs, Curlycord, pvj, gelehu, nabulsi), 151 guests, and 58 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,950
Posts637,224
Members49,346
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Corrupted DNA, mylos, TCiComm
Newest Members
NKol423, Rob McKay, s0397, Craypaz, Wisconsin Confer
49345 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 31
teleco 12
hbiss 8
Ruben 7
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners