web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
Thanks in advance for any info. I have a customer who would like to have an entry system at an external door where certain extensions (a total of three I am told) would ring when someone is at the door, and they could trigger an electric strike to open from inside the offices. Does the Definity switch have this type of capability? They have a decent sized Definity with an "A" and a "B" box. They also want video of the entrance but I can easily put that on a separate system either IP based or a normal analog camera. I am a low-voltage contractor for 25 years but I just know enough about phone switches to be dangerous, and I usually just provide structured wiring systems to support voice/data/video/control etc.

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website
IP Office Help

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website

FAQs, documentation, videos, updates, and support for the Avaya IP Office business phone system!
Everything you need to know about installing, upgrading, and troubleshooting IP 500v2 and IPO Server Edition systems.

As we have a second floor reception desk with no elevator, I have a "hotline" phone set up in the first floor lobby. The keypad is inoperable, but when someone picks up the phone, it automatically dials the receptionist and speak with the visitor. The receptionist can also dial that phone extension to talk to the visitor. I'll have to look at the exact programming I have on the phone when I am back at work.

I'm sure there is some kind of unit that would intercom back and forth that wouldn't hook up to the telephone system.

As for the door release, I'll have to let the others add their ideas.

To Succeed in life, you need three things: a wishbone, a backbone and a funnybone. ..Reba McEntire