EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
vpnproxymaster
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Turn your commission checks on autopilot with 50% RECURRING COMMISSIONS!
Flexibits
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing with Getresponse
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing. [2]
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Client is an older attorney who must have purchased this phone system when he graduated law school. He's attached to it (actually, he's attached to his money and doesn't want to buy anything new).

Problem: Frequent dropped calls. TelCo has been on site to "test", and of course they found no problems. They tell the client it must be their phone system, but the tech didn't have a laptop, so he couldn't access it ( :confused: )

My idea, to determine whether the system or the TelCo is dropping the calls is to replace (hard-wire to the C.O. lines) one of the extensions with an ATT 4-line analog phone (as found at Office Depot, etc).

Question is: If the receptionist answers a call and places on hold (Partner system phone), will the person picking up the call on the 4-line analog phone be able to break the hold? It's a small office and they just yell back/forth...

:shrug:


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,302
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,302
No, picking up a phone ahead of the system will not release the hold on the ACS

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Will the user be able to speak with the caller and will the system eventually disconnect/drop the hold after caller hangs up?


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 317
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 317
Best thing to do with intermittent problem is replace the processor and see if it continues. Give it a week and tell them if it keeps doing it you will put the old one back in and just charge for the time, or if it doesn't continue you bill them for the repair or the new processor.

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Been there/done that. I'm not spending one minute on a creaky old system that the client is attempting to hold together with rubber bands and chewing gum. It never works out good for me.

All I'm attempting to do is narrow down the problem: Phone lines? Call ATT. System? Here's a proposal for something new.


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 317
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 317
Yeah there's a point you need to draw that line, but you have to be careful because if you just sell them something new and the problem persists then arguing with the telco and further going after the problem is going to be your problem and make you look bad.

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Exactly. That's why I'm attempting to determine where the fault is before I make any recommendations as to new equipment. If the (temporary) 4-line phone doesn't drop calls, then we know the problem is with the system. If the 4-line phone behaves the same (drops calls), then we know the problem is with ATT.

Question: Will this proposed set-up function?


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 317
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 317
Not how you're proposing no. If you wanted to do it that way you'd need to install the 4 line phones at every phone location, or get a base station with cordlesses or something if it's a smaller place would be my suggestion if you're not going to switch the processor.

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,132
Moderator-Vodavi, Vertical, XBlue
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vodavi, Vertical, XBlue
*****
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,132
Just wondering - Have you checked the loop current? If it's below 18ma, I think the Partner will drop the call. At least that's what the old Merlin did.


- Dave S. -

You can never appease your ideologue opponents.

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,310
Quote
Originally posted by dtcd21:
Not how you're proposing no. If you wanted to do it that way you'd need to install the 4 line phones at every phone location, or get a base station with cordlesses or something if it's a smaller place would be my suggestion if you're not going to switch the processor.
OMG. :bang: I'm doing ONE phone as a TEST. If it works and solves the issue, I'll replace with a new phone at each location, and send the Partner to the phone museum.


D. Ocean
Miami, FL
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,431
Posts639,814
Members49,470
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
DavidRM, Doodle, Evgeny_Russia, jwcdawg, Majestic, WJSimon
Newest Members
AndreLS, JimLafleur, EssKayKay, xmestedex, PhoneGuy007
49,469 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 13
hbiss 4
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
15 members (newtecky, Curlycord, nortelvoip, Silversam, justbill, jeffmoss26, hbiss, sundance, BrianS, pvj, Professor Shadow, RUSS K., teldata1, JBean3329, BobRobert), 137 guests, and 56 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud