Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 30
I have a couple of fancy conference phones that are designed to plug into an ISDN BRI interface. I've seen mention of BRI in the mitel menus, but what hardware/options would be required to interface one to our SX-200 EL/ML? Our primary connection to the telco is via a PRI card, so we may already have some or most of what is needed.

Thanks
Mark Farver

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
No. PRI has nothing to do with BRI. BRI is only available on Mitel ELx system. It is require BCCIII card and Maintenance Module on BCCIII. Has to be software level 2 and higher and it is a special 8 port BRI card. Each BRI(Basic Rate Interface) is a 2B+D port wich is takes 2 56Kbts channels plus 1 16 Kbts D channel. You have to know how it should be programmed to make it work.

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
Vad60, I think Mark is trying to connect to Mitel as if it's a Central Office BRI. Ain't happenin', Mark. The Mitel AND your phone both want a Central Office type BRI circuit! It would be like trying to plug to single line phones together with 1 line cord and communicate. John C.


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
JohnC,
I thought he is having ISDN Conference phones and he is looking how to hook'em up to an existing Mitel.

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,056
My bad, rereading his original post, I think you may be right. Guess we'll find out if he returns. John C.


When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 30
You are correct, I was looking for the Mitel to act as a CO for the phone. A lot of other vendors can support ISDN sets... I've used a couple of agent consoles that were ISDN with other systems.

If the Mitel can only connect to a telco BRI that will not meet my needs. Ah well.

Thanks
Mark Farver

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,057
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,057
When you program the BRI circuit, you tell the Mitel whether it will be station side, or TELCO side. The only restriction is that all circuits on the 4 cct module have to set as the same type.


www.ResaleSystems.com 24 x 7 Mitel Parts and Free Tech Support

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,745
Posts636,435
Members49,622
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
cTopher, djmoutt, ffej010, Kenneth J McLean, telephonegunner, Tellink
Newest Members
noriod45, Levi1337, jackbeelerDCS, blentz, RockyTop
49,622 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
blentz 6
Toner 5
jsaad 5
dans 4
Who's Online Now
1 members (JBean3329), 51 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5