Phone Systems

AtcomCloud Online Store
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
MattW Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Anyone have any experience or comments about Bandwidth.com? I'm thinking about chunking the PRIs at each location for a SIP trunking solution. I can't seem to find much about how faxing works over this - just several old posts about t.38 not being supported - but in their future plans. The $30/trunk all inclusive plan sounds to good to pass, and will save me about $4k month to provide the same capacity over SIP that I have now with PRI's. Anybody with their coverage, cheaper? Better?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
I did an install for a customer about a month ago with Bandwidth.com and a 3300 MXe. There were a few headaches, one which is still ongoing. I know mitel is now supporting the t.38 protocol as of the latest software release. The customer I dealt with decided to leave thier faxes outside the system, though they do have a postage meter that has been giving them a few issues since moving off the PRI. When you look at the mitel SIP interop form, you will see that you can implement the trunks 3 different ways...using an Ingate Siperator, and Edgemarc 4xxx or 5xxx or using the WAN port. We found out (the hard way) that you cannot use the WAN port of the 3300 to do this. We ended up getting an edgemarc 4500 though be careful as that device is only capable of supporting up to 30 trunks. So shortly after we upgraded to the edgemarc 5300 LF which supports 300 trunks.

We have found telephone numbers that we cannot dial but Bandwidth.com helped point it back to the Mitel. The 9.0 UR2 is supposed to ix a lot of this stuff so we'll see what happens.


I wasnt to pleased with the support process (here's your ticket number...well call you back later). But there is a guy that I dealt with on every call named Courtney who really know his SIP well.

All in all the customer is pretty happy with what they have.

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
to elaborate more on the issue I was talking about


Based on the troubleshooting we have performed it appears the Mitel is requesting early media be sent to the phone 10.0.0.130 During the 183, the media is correctly being sent out Edgewater interface 10.0.1.26:16404 to 10.0.0.130:50234. Appears to be a configuration issue on Mitel not receiving SDP Early Media correctly.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,682
Posts636,151
Members49,603
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
bcampbell, Joe Brez, masonville
Newest Members
JustAGuy, Dialtony, FatherLot, RFarrarMD, WTCI
49,602 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 11
Yoda 10
dexman 8
nectec 6
Who's Online Now
2 members (nfcphoneman, BTS01), 22 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5