Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#112068 07/11/10 09:55 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,132
johnp Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,132
So this customer took care of their system, but were never shown how to do a backup. I never did one when servicing, since they did the above and I wasn't the original vendor(figured they had it covered).

Anyways, this is a redundant control with only one processor and they don't have redundant option. The system is operating on this bad drive, and when fully up you cannot access forms.

Forms can be accessed right after the screen comes up on reboot. Thinking maybe only bad in the logs area. The backup thay have is for a 5 cabinet system without their dsu node.

To shorten this saga, what do you all think about trying a backup immediately?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#112069 07/12/10 06:45 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 372
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 372
You’ll have to try it. Also do a dbms check and see if what errors you get there. I had one that errors prevented a backup; going into the form the errors were apparent… deleted them, backup worked. Your situation sounds worse, what is the error message and how old is that backup? You may have to get into and print out (to a file) each form and rebuild.


JimmyV

"Well informed people know it is impossible to transmit the voice over wires. Even if it were, it would be of no practical value" Boston Post, 1865
#112070 07/12/10 01:16 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 77
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 77
Hard drive is probably shot.Type in mss in maint.See how many soft errors and hard errors there is.Make sure you have the moss sheet if you need to replace the harddrive in it.

#112071 07/14/10 10:26 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,132
johnp Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,132
Just a little follow up. I ended up loading a new drive with their software level in the office in an identical control cabinet and adjusting the dimensions to match theirs.

While I was unsuccessful in doing a data save, I did manage to get a dbms save to rsd after one got boot.

Took their decryption module to the back up machine and did a dbms download. After doing a dbms and data save, moved the hard drive and chip back to their system.

System is up and running with no dbms errors.

#112072 07/15/10 04:37 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 372
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 372
Excellent! Something to cut and paste into the tech handbook; with the age of some of these machines we will be seeing more of this. Thanks for the update.


JimmyV

"Well informed people know it is impossible to transmit the voice over wires. Even if it were, it would be of no practical value" Boston Post, 1865

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,415
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Charles Duffy, Station Specialties
Newest Members
RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel
49,618 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Curlycord), 106 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5