Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
rp88 Offline OP
OP Offline
Hey I'm very new with phone systems so please bear with me.

We have a Mitel SX50 phone system at a hotel with 4 trunk lines. We had verizon before and everything worked great. We switched over to time warner cable about a month ago and now we have calls dropping (after 1 to 30 seconds) but the problem only happens at night. The TWC technicians came and checked everything saying everything is working great on their end.

Do you guys have any idea what the problem could be?

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
Did you have ground start trunks with Verizon? If so, did you convert the trunk ports over to loop start when you switched to cable? You can't just switch trunk types without doing the same within the SX50. I seriously, seriously doubt that TWC is providing ground-start.

Regardless, that wouldn't cause a timed problem. It would be all or nothing. Still, I would think that most outgoing calls are being made from a hotel at night. I don't know a huge amount about Mitel, but perhaps it allows a call for a certain amount of time before it realizes that the trunk type is wrong?

Also, the hardware that CLECs use often doesn't provide the precise 48 volt trunk voltage that is required for proper supervision. I'm going to guess that they are using an Arris box that only puts out between 24 and 32 volts on the trunk ports. If that is the case, you have an open and shut claim that it is a trouble on their end.

Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX