Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
CID Problems
#11949 07/06/06 07:00 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 179
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 179
I have a customer who currently gets Loops from 2 different companies. The CID from both companies shows up on an analog caller ID box, but only 1 of the companies CID will show on my switch, a samsung. Samsung says that we have done all we can to try and receive that CID and that they cant make it work. The phone company tells me that CID is CID and they cant tweak it at all. The customer just decided to switch all of thier lines over to the company whose caller ID we cannot receive.

I need to come up with a solution or the customer will drop us. Has anyone heard of a CId repeater or anything that would help in this situation?


Mitel, Samsung, CTP+ and A+ Certified.
Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Re: CID Problems
#11950 07/06/06 07:41 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,928
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,928
does the cid work at the demarc? If so try swapping the tip and ring on your IW, It should not be polarity sensitive but I have seen this fix it in some cases.


I Swear I did not touch anything bash
Re: CID Problems
#11951 07/06/06 08:29 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,200
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,200
I hate to ask this but are any solid state protection devices being used on the lines? Sometimes, these interfere with CID becoming polarized. I have only experienced this a handful of times, but it does happen.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: CID Problems
#11952 07/06/06 08:36 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 160
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 160
I'm with Ed on any additional protection on the lines. Not sure if it applies but I've had trouble tickets where things like alarm systems & outdoor bell ringers block the CID stream.

Re: CID Problems
#11953 07/06/06 08:43 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 179
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 179
The demarc and the switch are a few feet from each other. There isnt any lightning protection on the lines, nor are there any other devices. Ill try switching tip and ring though.


Mitel, Samsung, CTP+ and A+ Certified.
Re: CID Problems
#11954 07/06/06 09:18 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,200
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,200
If it's not too difficult, you might want to lift the incoming telco pair from their protector module and connect it directly to the system. Telcos have started using some solid-state integrated modules in their protected terminals. I am still concerned that a standard CID unit works on the lines though.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: CID Problems
#11955 07/06/06 09:24 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 349
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 349
are you getting anything on your switch, the CID could be coming in to 'hot'. i had this with a CLEC on a ESI system and they(ESI) changed some gain setting, i will go back to some old files and see what it is called


Martin Wolfe
Wolfe Communications
Servicing the North Bay
Sonoma, Marin, Napa, Lake, San Francisco, Mendocino
ESI, Avaya, Star2Star,and Toshiba Installer
Re: CID Problems
#11956 07/06/06 10:34 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 179
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 179
samsungs only options for CID receipt is lengthening the amount of time that it looks for the CID. Doesnt seem to help.


Mitel, Samsung, CTP+ and A+ Certified.
Re: CID Problems
#11957 07/06/06 10:55 AM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,184
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,184
It's not a problem with the trunk CO inputs for the lines from that 2nd provider, is it?

Have you tried swapping inputs (ports) with the other provider that CID does come up on the switch?

Re: CID Problems
#11958 07/06/06 11:00 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 179
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 179
yea, I tried swapping ports on the samsung between the good ones and the bad.


Mitel, Samsung, CTP+ and A+ Certified.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  MooreTel, Professor Shadow, skip555 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Kari's Law and Basic Edition
by ffej010 - 07/04/20 07:10 PM
IP Office 500 vers. 9.0
by Telesystems - 07/03/20 05:27 PM
Merlin Legebd
by hitechcomm - 07/03/20 08:35 AM
SIP phone Interoperability
by Bushmills - 07/02/20 11:48 PM
Who's Online Now
21 members (ffej010, justbill, Curlycord, nortelvoip, Bob-o, aweaver, Professor Shadow, Ruben, jeffmoss26, Edward_, Yoda, newtecky, JBean3329, BobRobert, Silversam, Carl Navarro, gelehu, RM SYSTEMS, metelcom, dexman, John807), 92 guests, and 56 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,795
Posts636,274
Members49,308
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Dale C, dzuroff, Jevnick, legionosh, Redswine
Newest Members
Real Estating, ForestHillChurch, Rick95, Byron Stewart, chad1003
49307 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 26
dans 10
Ruben 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners