Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Question about SLC96
#11993 07/07/06 08:29 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,204
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,204
Our office park is fed from Verizon using an AT&T SLC96. The use them a lot around here, though most newer pair gain installations are using equipment made by other manufacturers. I have been receiving conflicting information in these locations from Verizon. Their technicians refer to them interchangably as "RTs" or "pair gain" as well.

The issue is that DSL isn't available here, or so I have been told. We are clearly WAY too far from the CO for traditional copper (about 8 miles) so just about everything is using some form of pair gain equipment. This is where my question begins:

Isn't a SLC96 just a glorified channel bank? If so, I would think that it just takes in a T1 and emulates 24 analog circuits, correct? If this is true, it would explain their inability to pass the DSL signal. Have they come up with cards to retrofit the SLC96 to provide a remote DSLAM? It just seems that there is too much inconsistency since I know of locations in the same CO that are further out that can get DSL.

This is more of a curiosity question than anything since most customers here in our complex are going with T1/PRI or cable modem for their Internet access.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Refurbished Phones & Equipment Search
Re: Question about SLC96
#11994 07/07/06 08:39 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,722
KLD Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,722
Ed,

SLC/pair gain are just channels. DSL is similar to the old AML --- you can only be so many feet from the C O. Now, IF (BIG IF) you are fed by fiber to the SLC, they can install the required cardage and your footage starts all over again (usually 17000 from the C O or SLC). But due to Judge Greene's ruling, the utilities won't normally do it because then the other utilities can by law use their facility at less cost. CATV and SBC both run in front of our business park --- neither will equip the SLC because the first one to do it will be the loser.

Isn't deregulation wonderful?

KLD


Ken
---------
Re: Question about SLC96
#11995 07/07/06 12:10 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 411
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 411
There are a couple ways to do that. You can upgrade your SLC96 with other manufacturer's components to put ADSL+POTS on a line card. What Qwest has been doing in residential areas is putting a remote DSLAM next to the cross box and dragging the customer lines through there to provide service. They will generally only do it on residential areas because of cost vs customer density. I have put a handful of the in business areas myself and it works well. We aren't using line sharing but the same principle applies.

Re: Question about SLC96
#11996 07/07/06 12:25 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,928
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,928
It is basically like a channel bank but when running it as a gr303 setup you can providemany more lines per t1. An example is a slc fed by 7 t1's will support somewhere around 672 lines.
Basically the t1's act as available channels sort of like trunks.


I Swear I did not touch anything bash
Re: Question about SLC96
#11997 07/07/06 12:29 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 411
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 411
Quote
Originally posted by anthonyh:
It is basically like a channel bank but when running it as a gr303 setup you can providemany more lines per t1. An example is a slc fed by 7 t1's will support somewhere around 672 lines.
Basically the t1's act as available channels sort of like trunks.
Most of them I've seen have been running as TR-08, halfway between a normal channelized T1 and GR-303.

Re: Question about SLC96
#11998 07/07/06 12:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,204
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
OP Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,204
So, from the replies I have seen, the SLC96 is more of a remote switch, being that DS0 channels aren't really dedicated to a particular customer. They are more like trunks on a PRI, where the 1:1 ratio as with a T1 isn't the case. Channels are siezed and utilized on an as-needed basis. Correct?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: Question about SLC96
#11999 07/07/06 12:44 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,928
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,928
sounds about right


I Swear I did not touch anything bash
Re: Question about SLC96
#12000 07/07/06 01:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 860
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 860
* “...refer to them interchangeably as "RTs" or "pair gain" as well.”
- pair gain= generic term for digital carriers that are employed to serve customers rather than do inter-office. (There is/was an equipment manufacture that is called Pairgain which adds to the confusion.)
RT= remote terminal. The outside end as opposed to the Central Office End. That’s a completely generic term that would apply to all pair gain (using the generic term) devices.

* “Isn't a SLC96 just a glorified channel bank?” Yes, absolutely! Same mechanics as “D4” also… SLC96 operating in Mode I (II and III are more concentrated) is identical to D4 banks.

* “If so, I would think that it just takes in a T1 and emulates 24 analog circuits, correct?” Only in Mode I… again there are other configurations that allow more concentration of circuits than 24 to 1 bank.

DSL of any flavor will not pass through channel banks… Channel banks still operate on the philosophy of digitizing analog signals to place them on the digital carrier… There is no technology that could allow that sort of “fixed bandwidth” to ride a channelized T1 cxr.

DSLAM’s really require being fed by fiber… There are plenty of NGDLC (Next Generation Digital Loop Carriers) that, by definition, are broadband capable that can replace legacy DLC’s (remember DLC and pair gain with a lower case “p” can be used interchangably.) BUT unless that location is already fiber fed the swapping of systems is VERY time consuming and costly.


-----------------------
Bryan
LEC Provisioning Engineer
Cars -n- Guitars Racin' (retired racer Oct.'07)
Re: Question about SLC96
#12001 07/07/06 01:16 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 860
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 860
Quote
Originally posted by ev607797:
So, from the replies I have seen, the SLC96 is more of a remote switch, being that DS0 channels aren't really dedicated to a particular customer. They are more like trunks on a PRI, where the 1:1 ratio as with a T1 isn't the case. Channels are siezed and utilized on an as-needed basis. Correct?
I can tell you're still a bit confused here... laugh

SLC 96 is still a fixed ratio; it's just that one DS0 channel can be subdivided further to serve more than one dial tone service.

A SLC96 set up in Mode II and GR-303 acts very much just like a remote switch... BUT it has absolutey no intelligence in it... It's more or less just a pathway to the host switch.


-----------------------
Bryan
LEC Provisioning Engineer
Cars -n- Guitars Racin' (retired racer Oct.'07)
Re: Question about SLC96
#12002 07/07/06 01:21 PM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 860
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 860
Quote
Originally posted by KLD:
Ed,

SLC/pair gain are just channels. DSL is similar to the old AML --- you can only be so many feet from the C O. Now, IF (BIG IF) you are fed by fiber to the SLC, they can install the required cardage and your footage starts all over again (usually 17000 from the C O or SLC). But due to Judge Greene's ruling, the utilities won't normally do it because then the other utilities can by law use their facility at less cost. CATV and SBC both run in front of our business park --- neither will equip the SLC because the first one to do it will be the loser.

Isn't deregulation wonderful?

KLD
That’s not entirely true the past couple of years… During Powell’s time at the FCC there was a ruling that NGDLC’s (again, broadband capable pair-gains) did not HAVE to adhere to CLEC pricing and availability.

Better rule in my opinion… BUT just another point to be confused on! eek laugh


-----------------------
Bryan
LEC Provisioning Engineer
Cars -n- Guitars Racin' (retired racer Oct.'07)
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  MooreTel, Professor Shadow, skip555 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
You don't know Jack!
by Professor Shadow - 07/12/20 02:57 AM
SL2100 night mode switching
by teleco - 07/11/20 04:19 PM
Suttle Apparatus Acquisition.
by dexman - 07/11/20 03:59 AM
Headset in-use relay
by SST - 07/08/20 06:33 PM
Partner ACS AA
by mtncomm1 - 07/08/20 04:18 PM
Who's Online Now
32 members (Curlycord, hitechcomm, Touch Tone Tommy, Mercenary Roadie, hbiss, dexman, Bob3470, Yoda, mongo5150, Professor Shadow, newtecky, Shelbyrich, usedphones, justbill, EV607797, Avidcomm, pvj, Carl Navarro, nortelvoip, metelcom, Ruben, BTS01, teleco, ThePhoneConnection, Stix1, RATHER BE FISHING, dans, vicbob, KRRath, LoonCreek, Coral Tech, HMHRIT), 499 guests, and 51 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,809
Posts636,355
Members49,311
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
hornet, LifesaverM, Old Dog No Tricks, Ryan Jones
Newest Members
StevCom, DaleG, jlspeck, Real Estating, ForestHillChurch
49310 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
dans 11
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners