Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,712
Likes: 1
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,712
Likes: 1
My client bought the building with an 8x24 DR5.1 DS and this VM, a Norstar Voice Mail, Model V3G Rel 04 2 years ago. The building had been M/T for 2 years prior to that.

I've been there 3 times since they bought to resetup the system & VM.

This was a big manufacturing plant B/4, but still after 2 years they only have a half dozen sets or so working.

She called today complaining that they had had a power outage this w/e and since then their VM hasn't worked. After several questions I realize that the whole system has defaulted as well.

Verified when I got there & of course the UPS is defective. Because I had thought to bring a new one with me, I changed it.....also defective. %&$#@*^$.

I changed the Data cartridge as the cap had gone tits up, so that'll hold them until tomorrow. I did't do anything for the VM as I'm not sure if there is a CAP in that as well that should be changed, & since I had to go back with a working UPS tomorrow, I thought I'd ask you guys.

She also told me that "Now that I think about it, every time there was a power outage lately, my VM wouldn't work for a couple of days, then would start."

I've never installed one of these so is there something I should be checking or will it show after I get the rest of the system to work?

Dave


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
GA
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 505
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 505
Sounds like a fast on/off/on power left vm down untill next power outage was down long enough for both sys. and vm to come up together when powered back up? Strange for vm to start working after a couple of days.How much voltage passing thru old ups.?

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,712
Likes: 1
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,712
Likes: 1
Quote
Originally posted by jacktel:
Sounds like a fast on/off/on power left vm down untill next power outage was down long enough for both sys. and vm to come up together when powered back up? Strange for vm to start working after a couple of days.How much voltage passing thru old ups.?
I agree on all counts. I put a meter on the UPS before I pulled the plug. I had 117.x VAC. When I pulled the plug from the outlet I had a big fat "0".

Therefore the UPS battery was dead.

I just hope that after I getbthe rest going I don't have to wait for 2 or 3 days to "see".

I think I'll give it about an hour, then throw in a Flash 2.

I'd like to resart everything from "0" including extensions as the ones they're using are all over the map, but she tells me they need the same extensions as they're printed on their business cards.

Dave


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Offline
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Does this vm have a 5.25 floppy drive! Also the battery on the cpu can be replaced.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,712
Likes: 1
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,712
Likes: 1
I didn't see a floppy drive on the outside as in the Nortel A, B, or C'S if that's what you mean. I believe this is a newer model.

I'll see about taking the cover off though tomorrow, if I need to.

I just went through the paper work that Bell left behind. Whatever my old pal did consisted of:
NVM 4.0 Model 4 Bundle (French)

Upgrade/NVM 2 Voice Channel EN
N* VM 4.3 Doc. kit
DBN V1.3 Kit French
NVM 4.0 Model 2 and Doc/ENG
Minuet ACD 1.2 SW DOC Kit French

Maybe that gives you some idea of what this is.

Dave


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Offline
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
A model 4 nam connected to an 8x24! Then the media interface card has been changed. It's still an os2 platform and the battery can be changed.

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,681
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,681
That's a copper NAM Dave. It's still a PC in voice mail clothing (One step beyond Startalk A,B,C). You should have some LED digits in the top left corner. They display status of system "00" means its working.

If you've changed the 824 cartridge, make sure you are using the same DN digit length.

You also may have hard drive issues.


Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
http://www.telemarv.ca
Specializing in Nortel Norstar, BCM and Allworx VoIP Servers
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,681
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,681
Oh and I have one if you need it.


Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
http://www.telemarv.ca
Specializing in Nortel Norstar, BCM and Allworx VoIP Servers
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 58
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 58
If it's really a V3G NAM then you must have the fiber to copper converter to connect to the 824. Also check power to the converter.


Brian Cox
J & J Communications
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,712
Likes: 1
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
OP Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,712
Likes: 1
It was the NAM. I spoke to Marv this am while on site and I wasn't getting a light from where the fiber attached to it. Had light from the converter, though. So we decided it's dead. Pulled out me pipes, played a lament, & will be swapping it out later this week.

Thanks all for the imput, especially Marv.

Dave


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!

Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff, Z-man 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Clarity Cordless phones
by NECIITech - 03/08/21 09:41 PM
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 03/07/21 01:00 AM
Samsung DCS power failure
by Telesystems - 03/06/21 09:55 PM
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 03/06/21 05:09 PM
Old Equipment Plan
by MarkAtLMFJ - 03/05/21 04:41 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,291
Posts639,140
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
new2telecom, Ravishaw
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 34
Ruben 27
pvj 13
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
2 members (pvj, hitechcomm), 26 guests, and 24 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners