Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#140971 11/03/08 01:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
jmics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
I have a CICS 7.1 with a Call Pilot 3.1 at my site. Calls will be coming in through a CCR tree, and at some point, being transferred to an extension. The issue is that we need to make two phones ring when that happens, which I expect to accomplish with Answer DNs (correct me if I'm wrong).


The question is what happens when either the destination DN or the set with an Answer DN is busy. Will the other set ring ? Does it matter which one is busy ?


I imagine that setting Call Fwd Busy or Call Fwd No Answer will cause the call to be eaten by one of those features being triggered. On the other hand, I don't want the call to ring forever.


What are my options ?

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#140972 11/03/08 05:55 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,256
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,256
Quote
Originally posted by jmics:
What are my options ?
Hunt groups.


Richard
AVAYA-NORTEL-SAMSUNG-PANASONIC-MITEL
www.acceleratedtelecom.com
#140973 11/03/08 06:34 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
You have two ICMs by default. System will considered its busy if both are engaged in conversation. Answer DN has nothing to do with busy state of covered Ext. besides you can assign as many ICMs as you wish to keep original DN available.
I don't think Hunt group is a good option for one DN.

#140974 11/04/08 04:44 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
jmics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
I'm sorry, I didn't understand what you wrote. If a CCR menu item sends a call to 225, and that extension is busy, but there is an Answer DN for 225 on 226, will the call ring at 226 ?

Conversely, if 226 is busy, will the call ring at 225 ?

If I go with a hunt group, and both extensions have CFNA going to VM after four rings, which extension's VM will get the message ?

#140975 11/04/08 05:16 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,256
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,256
Build and send it to a HG mailbox, or change one of the DN's CFWD N/A(whichever mailbox you want to answer first) to a shorter number of rings.


Richard
AVAYA-NORTEL-SAMSUNG-PANASONIC-MITEL
www.acceleratedtelecom.com
#140976 11/04/08 05:38 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,685
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,685
Likes: 4
Use Hunt Groups. They do NOT follow CFNA rules of the DN's they are on.

Build a broadcast hunt group with overflow to the voice mail, point your CCR to the HG DN, create a mailbox for the huntgroup.

Ans DN are tricky because of CFNA timing and you can't use CFB on any set that has an ANS DN on it.


Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services (Retired)
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
#140977 11/04/08 06:09 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
jmics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
Thank you.

One question: If a station is a member of a hunt group, but the call was sent to the station directly, by dialing that extension, do the hunt group settings apply, or can I set up CFNA/CFB for that station, keeping in mind that the hunt group also exists ?

#140978 11/04/08 10:57 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,685
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,685
Likes: 4
They are seperate. Calls to the DN directly use CFNA/CFB settings. Calls to the HG do not.


Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services (Retired)
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
#140979 11/05/08 01:17 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
jmics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
So I created a hunt group 1, DN 290, with members 221 and 222. It rings both phones, and if neither answers, it goes back to the CCR main menu.

Instead, I need it to drop into 221's voicemail.

If I set up overflow for hunt group 1 to 221, and CFNA is pointing to the voicemail DN, it goes back to the voicemail main menu.

Return to Menu is NOT checked in the Call Pilot.

I don't see any programming for the hunt group that specifies what happens if the hunt group isn't answered.

#140980 11/05/08 01:53 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,685
Likes: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,685
Likes: 4
jmic,
The Mods have been reviewing your posts and questions.

You have repeatedly shown very limited knowledge of Nortel products. I think it's time to open the books/take a course. Tech Talk is not here to teach you to be a Nortel technician. This is an end user and basic installer forum only.

I hope you are not charging for the services you are providing. If you are, it very unprofessional to call yourself a Nortel telephone technician.


Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services (Retired)
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,414
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Charles Duffy, Station Specialties
Newest Members
RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel
49,618 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (justbill), 105 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5