Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#141006 11/04/08 01:22 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
jmics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
I have a Call Pilot 3.1 which came with Australian and UK English languages. Neither of those choices are useful to me, so I fired up the Language utility from the 3.1 software CD. I was able to replace Australian with US English, but attempting to replace the UK English it went to about 60% and popped a message like "could not create the directory". Any clue of how to fix that ? Subsequent to that message I did a reinstall, but the message continues to come up.

Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,829
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,829
have you checked to see if you have all the current patches

Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 240
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 240
The best way to upgrade and/or change language if you have a laptop with PCMCIA slot: insert the software card in your PC, delete every file you see (don't worry, you won't delete the messages and MB, they are in a hidden sector) with CTRL+A and replace them with the same files you keep on your upgrade PCMCIA card, that will include the languages you normally use (I'll presume English and Spanish).

Take it out of your PC, put it in CP and reboot... voilà!

I think the problem you may be having is that the default language is hard-coded, meaning it is a UK intended call pilot. You can change the Alternate to whatever you feel. You may have to return it to get a US version.


Yes, I'm a frenchie; have a problem with that?? Well, I do!!
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
Just make sure your Windows Firewall turned off. I had the same problem until I killed it.

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
jmics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
I am running version 31.10.14.22 on the CP.

How can I tell if there are updates or patches missing, and how can I get them ?

Is there such a thing as hard-coded pcmcia cards ? The language utility on the 3.1 CD seems to indicate that you can select any two languages you like. Is that not true ?

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
That is true. 31.10.14.22 one of the latest one so all updates and patches are there.

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,681
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,681
jmic,
The Mods have been reviewing your posts and questions.

You have repeatedly shown very limited knowledge of Nortel products. I think it's time to open the books/take a course. Tech Talk is not here to teach you to be a Nortel technician. This is an end user and basic installer forum only.

I hope you are not charging for the services you are providing. If you are, it very unprofessional to call yourself a Nortel telephone technician.


Marv CCNA, CTUB
TeleMarv Services
Providing telecommunication solutions in Ottawa Canada since 1990
http://www.telemarv.ca
Specializing in Nortel Norstar, BCM and Allworx VoIP Servers
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
jmics Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 37
I'm not clear on what knowledge I might acquire from a course that would address this issue. The software is being run per the instructions in the manual, but not functioning as advertised. An error message which is neither documented nor dealt with in the troubleshooting section of the manual appears, and there is no indication of how to resolve this other than to ask who else has encountered this, and how they resolved it.

Such a question certainly deserves a courteous response. Any end user or basic installer could reasonably ask this question and not be expected to know the answer.


Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
How to subscribe to get full access.
by Ruben - 05/05/21 09:29 PM
OS UNI Card Version Question
by RM SYSTEMS - 05/04/21 04:53 PM
summit 100 no lines working
by davetel - 05/01/21 05:11 PM
MICS caller ID
by bditech - 04/30/21 05:57 PM
How do I edit my posts?
by Schreiber - 04/29/21 11:07 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums93
Topics94,373
Posts639,627
Members49,454
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
LEGRANDS COMMUNICATIONS, odin5
Newest Members
Andrea Sau, eos90066, Sonic, ERA, Mackino
49,454 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Global Test Supply
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 42
pvj 16
Ruben 14
bditech 11
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
NordVPN
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
24 members (Curlycord, justbill, dexman, CyberLaw, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, KRRath, gelehu, pvj, Silversam, hitechcomm, Daniel, JBean3329, MooreTel, metelcom, BobRobert, Skunky, Touch Tone Tommy, dougster, Bob3470, ffej010, ssdr9163, Professor Shadow, Yoda, Mercenary Roadie), 318 guests, and 79 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
vpnproxymaster
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud