Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#15840 05/18/07 07:29 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 195
Timbo Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 195
I have a customer that wanted to have us install a PRI on their Vodavi telephone system. To make a long story short, they have an existing "Data" T1 from AT&T that is sitting idle (they don't need it and have never used it) and it is too costly for them to cancel their term contract on it. I approached AT&T about "re-engineering" the T1 to a Voice PRI but they are telling me that they can't provide a PRI and support local calling for this particular customer (the customer is in kind of a remote location) but they gave me the option of changing over to what they are calling their "Digital Link" service and it will supposedly support local as well as LD calling both for inbound and outbound.

I have never heard of this service and was wondering if anyone has some info on it...supposedly it connects to the phone system via T1 handoff???

Thanks,
Timbo

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
That T probably was a point to point, customers location to maybe their ISP or maybe another location.

"Digital Link" is just a product name for pri or a full 24 voice channel T back to their CO.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 195
Timbo Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 195
Hal,
yes you are right...they originally got the T1 for Internet use but ended up doing something different so that they could get higher bandwidth.

I realize that AT&T is not really changing the Data T1 to voice....rather it's just a way that they can justify cancelling the Data T1 without penalty because they are replacing it with another similar circuit.
I was just curious if I would have anything to worry about trying to connect the "Digital Link" service to my PBX....it doesn't make sense to me that AT&T "can't" provide a PRI but the "can" provide Digital Link which sounds to me like it's almost the same thing???

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,928
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,928
pm sent


I Swear I did not touch anything bash

Moderated by  MooreTel 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,740
Posts636,416
Members49,619
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Charles Duffy, Station Specialties
Newest Members
RockyTop, Homer Domer, Lane, AMS Technology C, Chrontel
49,618 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 41 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5