Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#158737 05/07/07 05:49 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 690
benb Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 690
Haven't been to this customer site but the phone company has and says it's our equipment (heard that one before). Customer says that on incoming calls after lifting the handset there is about a five second delay before they can speak. Any ideas? I was thinking possibly changing the CID timer to 0 seconds if they don't have caller ID though that usually just makes calls ring in quicker not change the delay after picking up. I have a feeling that it's something on the lines themselves like low loop current.

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#158738 05/07/07 09:19 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,924
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,924
Have had this on PRI when Clock Priority was not set properly. But your right, always look at loop current.

#158739 05/08/07 02:43 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,102
Likes: 1
OBT Offline
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,102
Likes: 1
I would stick a test phone on the line and test it before the system.

Are they using headsets,I had it before where they press the answer key as they were saying company greeting and customer did not hear the first part.
There is a slight delay between pick up and answer but the time it takes to get handset to ear it is answered. And in my experance 5 seconds by the customer is really only 1 second.


“I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.”
#158740 05/08/07 08:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,026
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,026
Is the call coming through an auto attendant or ringing directly to the extensions?

#158741 05/08/07 08:43 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 690
benb Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 690
Figured out the problem is with the system. Calls ring directly to the TVA50 into a custom service menu. The TVA is set up for FX transfers due to the school it is in I didn't want to set up fwd at the phones (people tend to press that button and turn it off even when they don't know what it does). Wierd thing is calling from my cell phone the AA answers on the first ring. I dial an extension and answer the call as it's ringing the phone. In my cell phone I still here another full ring cycle before I get connected with the extension. I ended up changing the system to FXD transfers and setting up forwarding at the phones. Couldn't figure out where the problem was coming from after looking at every timer in the TDA and TVA. Any one have a solution or know what's causing this???
Thanks in advance.

#158742 05/08/07 07:47 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 121
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 121
one of my tda100 customers called me a few weeks ago with the same exact problem - they get a call through the tva and ther is a 3-5 second delay before the call was connected. all i had to do was reset both the tda and the tva.(power down/power up) since then - no problems.


Moderated by  Carl Navarro, OBT 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,737
Posts636,402
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
effedisk, hellbender, Pat Amaral, Zip
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Michael1948), 29 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5