Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
StevenA Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Telrad Digital BX

MPD S-128 6.03
ELD
OCD Modem, DTMF Receiver, MIM
HONS

Hello all,

Last week I moved a two cabinet Telrad Digital BX and Imagen system for a customer of mine. I've never worked on the phone system itself (I only did their data) but since I've done their cabling for years they asked if I could do their move to a new location which I said I could but not any programing.

Unfortunately there were some problems with the system before the move and now a couple interesting ones after.

About two months ago the voicemail stopped working, an Imagen 4 port LE system. They had already disconnected everything before I arrived to move the system so I have no idea on how to reconnect it and they lack the installation manuals. Out the back of the Imagen is two DB9 connectors, one male, one female that terminate to two RJ45's They plugged into two jacks, one marked A the other D, the two cables went to the phone system in which one went to the OCD cards RJ45 jack, and one to the 66 block labeled IVM1, 2, 3, and 4.

Unfortunately I have no idea which RJ45 is supposed to go where as it was only labeled D and A and the jacks were cut off at the box, one is standard 568B and the other is wired strangely. Anyone have an idea as to how and which way?

Second, on power up, the OCD card and the three options, modem, DTMF receiver, and MIM card all light up the red LED, but soon after they all turn off, I'm assuming they should be on for the voicemail to work?

Thirdly, in reconnecting some stations back to their ports, I get the rotating MSG DND Mute SPKR requesting the DN. inputing the DN does nothing however. One station, ext 237 keeps coming back as 238, I hold the # key to clear the DN but it still comes back as 238. This phone is the second most used phone so I need to figure it out.

As mentioned, they do not have any installation manuals, I looked in the manual links section but I'm not sure of which one to get from the list.

Any ideas appreciated, please PM me with any non-publicly postable information such as passwords or configuration changes.

Steven


Iky Pic
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 69
jd Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 69
been a while since i worked on these but as far as i can remember you need to know which port the extension was connected to before it will accept the extension no
Ie an ELD card can have 2 extensions connected to the same Bus
in system programming there would be 2 extn no's
assigned to Bus 1 and system will only accept these 2 no's for that port so really you need
the system programming software to see what extn's were assigned to what ports
Dos Pcp (as in not windows) was the software
as i said been a while but im sure i could dig up a manual if your stuck

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
StevenA Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
That's what they have, 2 extension running off the same port, the blocks are marked with the extension numbers, I could be incorrectly assuming that they've remained the same. Without getting into programing though I have no idea as to which extension is at which port.

Ext 237 bugs me though as I put it on a mod tap and move it from port to port and it either doesn't work (wrong set type) or at it's right port says 238. Do these phones have serial numbers in them do they to restrict them to certain ports? As the other phones that have the rotating led's do it at every port that I plug it into.

Thanks,

Steven


Iky Pic
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
Moderator-Telrad
Offline
Moderator-Telrad
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
Two phones can work off of one port, Your going to need the programing software becuase the buses can have any EXT assign to them. I would suggest contactoing a moderator and purchase some tech support and they could walk you through eveything with 2-3 hours.

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
Moderator-Telrad
Offline
Moderator-Telrad
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
One other thing, The Voice Cable D probably stands for DATA (goes to the OCD card) the one that say A stands for Audio (goes to the 66Block cut down for the OCD card).

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
StevenA Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
I kinda figured that, do you know which one then is wired 568B? (I guessed the D cable, but the Imagen is still not responding to calls)

At least then I'll have a 50/50 chance as neither the DB9's or RJ45 plugs are labeled.

Still trying to figure out if the OCD is working since there are no lights lit on it or the options.

Thanks,

Steven


Iky Pic
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
Moderator-Telrad
Offline
Moderator-Telrad
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
The light on the front of the OCD card should go on they go off and stay off when reseating the card. But with out the software you are just spinning your wheels. you need to contact a moderator and purchases some tech support. I or one of the others can walk you through this fairly quickly so you can get your customer up and running properly.

These questions are over the MSG boards tech support. I'm sorry and we would be happy to help you, just contact a moderator.

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
StevenA Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Thanks Tony, I'll have to see what they want to do, right now they are trying to get the installation manual from the people they purchased it from and the passwords.

I think they still support the system, but they haven't been the greatest so I hear.

Steven


Iky Pic
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
Moderator-Telrad
Offline
Moderator-Telrad
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
PM sent

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
StevenA Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Thanks, I sent one back to ya,

Well, today was a bit more productive, I found a faint "D" on one of the RJ45 cables coming from the imagen, so I plugged that into jack D that is wired 568B that goes into the RJ45 on the OCD. The other one "A" goes down to the OCD 66 block and terminated to the previous locations.

Dialing 555 which they say goes to VM gives an IVM Busy message, the imagen however says it has 0 ports in use.

Something is still not working somewhere,

Steven


Iky Pic
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  SSPhone 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Saying good by to all the rest of my toshiba
by SSPhone - 05/07/21 04:28 PM
IP Office 500 V2 crash
by Mercenary Roadie - 05/07/21 08:24 AM
Random characters on screen
by dougster - 05/06/21 06:49 PM
How to subscribe to get full access.
by Ruben - 05/05/21 09:29 PM
OS UNI Card Version Question
by RM SYSTEMS - 05/04/21 04:53 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums93
Topics94,377
Posts639,660
Members49,454
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
KWH, PulseDial
Newest Members
Andrea Sau, eos90066, Sonic, ERA, Mackino
49,454 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Global Test Supply
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 48
pvj 18
Ruben 15
bditech 11
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
30 members (sundance, nortelvoip, BobRobert, dexman, pvj, Yoda, Mercenary Roadie, CyberLaw, jeffmoss26, nameless, JBean3329, Touch Tone Tommy, Curlycord, Bushmills, Carl Navarro, Professor Shadow, SSPhone, KRRath, Ruben, justbill, gelehu, dougster, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, hitechcomm, mongo5150, www.telcom1.net, Skunky, MooreTel, metelcom, RonP), 458 guests, and 83 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
vpnproxymaster
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners