Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 3
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 3
I have an application with an LIPU behind a Sonicwall Firewall/Router. I have a public IP address on the LIPU and we had the IT manager open the below listed ports(which he has said is done.) The LIPU says "Registering IPT" for a while and then says IPU Not Found. I can ping the IP address from our office and the firewall shows icmp packets being lost. Does anyone know the settings on the Sonicwall to get this to work? Sonicwall tech support has been no help and customer is being difficult. Thank you!!

LIPU

Function
Protocol Name
Ports
Type

Connection Request
StrataNet (QSIG)
4029
TCP

Call Control Channel
StrataNet (QSIG)
6400-8191
TCP

Registering IPT
RAS (H.225)
1718, 1719
UDP

IPT
RTP/RTCP
1500-1503
UDP

IPT
RAS/MEGACO
1-65534 + 1
UDP Note 1

Call Control Channel
MEGACO+
2944
TCP

Media Channel for TDM
RTP/RTCP
16384-16511
UDP

Medial Channel for NAT
RTP
20480-20991
UDP

Medial Channel for IP QSIG
RTP/RTCP
20992-24575
UDP


Have a great day!
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,017
Moderator-Toshiba, Request an Installer
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba, Request an Installer
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,017
Have you tried it outside the sonicwall?


Now available Voicemail Programmer Kit to program your Toshiba Voice Mail across your network.

Toshiba Technical Support at: One Ring Telecom
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 3
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 3
Yes, it works outside the firewall and internally on a private IP address. It is definitely something in the firewall- I am just hoping someone can point me to the correct setting smile


Have a great day!
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,017
Moderator-Toshiba, Request an Installer
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba, Request an Installer
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,017
Toshiba has said over and over that the LIPU will NOT work behink a firewall.

I know all the arguements about DMZ's and such, but I still put in a small switch ahead of the firewall for the LIPU.


Now available Voicemail Programmer Kit to program your Toshiba Voice Mail across your network.

Toshiba Technical Support at: One Ring Telecom
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 3
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 3
Then why do they publish which ports to open on the firewall? I am missing something. Can you explain what that is concerning? It may be for something completely different. We also have it working behind our firewall here on a watchguard and adtran firewall. Unfortunately I have no experience on the SonicWall. Any other suggestions or am I on my own? I really do appreciate the help!!


Have a great day!
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 406
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 406
We have IP phones working on a LIPU that is behind a Sonic Wall at our office. We got a cheat sheet to configure the Sonic Wall for the LIPU, don't remember where we got it from, I do remember it took a long time to get set up. If I can find it I will let you know. Plugging into the cable modem/switch was the easiest route to connect just as voyager mentioned.

Cool VoIP bus

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 13
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 13
Try telneting to each of LIPU's ports from the outside and see whether your IT people has done the bypass properly.

C:> telnet 9.9.9.9 9999 - port number

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4
The reason they publish which ports to open is for an IP phone to work off site behind a firewall with an LIPU. You can't just plug an IP phone in behind a firewall and have it work.

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 105
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 105
The only way to go with this is put it outside the firewall, just behind the 1st router/modem with that device not doing ANY nat/firewall/etc, using JUST public IPs. We fought the same thing forever and that's the only way I could get it to work.

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 13
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 13
Placing the device outside a firewall is too risky and invites hackers to try and hack your system.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,736
Posts636,401
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
effedisk, hellbender, Pat Amaral, Zip
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
jsaad 7
Toner 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (justbill), 34 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5