Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#196858 03/20/09 12:57 PM
Lazy J Offline OP
OP Offline
Greetings.

I am a Systems Admin for a place in Seattle and have been tasked with handling the phone systems here. This is not my area of expertise but I have a willingness to learn!

We are setup on a Toshiba DK280 system, we have 8 lines, two fax and 6 and voice from qwest. Our Toshiba system has 4 cabinets with a variety of cards in them.

Right now we are running about 25 phones, most of our calling is from one extension to another with the exceptions being the receptionists and the office manager who make outside calls very regularly.

We are essentially adding on to our business and will need an additional 5 perhaps 10 adds into this system. I believe we have the capability as this building/system used to be a call center with over 50 phones running. I have boxes of phones laying around extra and I believe plenty of room in the system.

In the immediate future, read next week I am trying to learn how to do adds myself as I have 3 that need to be completed by Friday. I might have to call in a tech to do this but from my perspective it seems like a waste of money simply paying someone else to do, what should be simple like add in a couple lines or possibly move some around.

I have plenty of experience, toning lines, pulling cables, 110/66 block punchdowns, etc. I just don't have much PBX experience...

So, my questions.

1) Should I invest time and money learning and maintaining the system we have? I don't want to be throwing money down the tube when I could have something that's easier to program with more features.

2) I have some experience with trixbox/asterisk- Should I move in that direction?

3) If I do, is there a way to slowly add new IP based phones and still interface the old ones so I don't have to take a huge 5-10k hit up front for new phones? Or possibly is there a way to keep our Toshiba phones and just upgrade the back end to asterisk?