web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
OP Offline
Hello,

I found this forum while searching for the pinout of a PPTC-9 adapter. It looks very helpful. I couldn't find another post with my exact situation, so I'm creating a new post. I have little to no telephone system experience, I am a computer technician. The first part of this post will be telling the story, then I'll get to the questions.

I trade computer services with a local doctor. He has always had little problems here and there with his Toshiba CIX 40 phone/voicemail system. I have been able to help him with wiring, resetting voicemail passwords, dialing in from the outside, etc. Some of this information I got from Googling manuals and reading through them.

He has always had a particular problem where it seems he has two mailboxes when a caller is sent to voicemail. After looking into it I realized that first the greeting at mailbox 990 (apparently the auto attendant) is played and then the greeting at mailbox 500 is played (apparently the message center) and then the caller is prompted to record after the tone. On top of that, there is about a 5-10 second delay between each greeting (having officially timed it, but it's long enough to be annoying). Basically, it made him sound very unprofessional when someone called in and got the voicemail.

I couldn't figure it out, and finally he thought it was worth it to call a professional, so he called the company which (indirectly) sold him the system originally. At first the pro sounded really promising, explaining that the auto attendant could be setup with multiple numbered options to playback hours and directions, etc., and he could even enable the music on hold port for an iPod, etc. All that sounded great so the doctor said go ahead and make it happen. Then it fell apart.