Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Outbound calling issue w/ Polycom 335 on CTX100
#205189 09/23/11 06:25 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 36
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 36
Hi all,

I've been working out of a home office much more frequently. In an effort to reduce the quantity of phones cluttering the workspace I replaced an ATA w/ analog phone and a single-line Sipura/Linksys SPA922 with a Polycom IP 335. The IP 335 is configured like this:

Line 1 is registered to a commercial SIP provider that we use for our house.
Line 2 is registered to the CTX 100.

I can make and receive calls just fine on Line 1 (house line). On line 2 (registered on the CTX) I can call internal company extensions but I cannot call outside numbers. It seems as if the IP 335 is cutting off the input of digits after 10 digits, meaning it will drop the last 2 digits of a phone number if I input 91XXX-XXX-XXXX. To me this seems like it could be a dialplan problem but, given that I'm not a phone tech, that's just my best guess.

This is the current setting for the phone's dialplan:

[2-9]11|0T|011xxx.T|[0-1][2-9]xxxxxxxxx|[2-9]xxxxxxxxx|[2-9]xxxT

This setting appears to affect all lines on the phone and I don't want to break the primary line in fixing the secondary...

Any other thoughts?

Toshiba Telephones and Equipment
Re: Outbound calling issue w/ Polycom 335 on CTX100
#205190 09/24/11 01:30 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,547
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,547
I have seen this before and I would think it is a dialplan issue. I am pretty sure there is a way to make it universal, so that you can dial as many digits as you need. When you pause for a few seconds (time out), the phone will know you are done pressing buttons and process the call.

I don't have an example of a universal dialplan that would allow any number of digits. Last time I had to fix this problem I just opied the dial string from a phone that worked.

The main disadvantage is that there woudl be a pause after you are done dialing, or you would dial a number and then press send.

Re: Outbound calling issue w/ Polycom 335 on CTX100
#205191 09/24/11 05:43 AM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 36
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 36
I don't mind a delay at all, this is strictly for my personal use. Would adding extra x's to the long sets in the plan I posted work? I guess I'll try that...

EDIT: Yup, that worked! As you mentioned, when dialing on the primary line it waits until I press Dial because its still expecting two more digits (9,1). I can live with that.

Thanks!


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
KXTD816 ringing wrong extension
by ToshiGal75 - 05/25/20 06:02 PM
SV9100 with 10 digit DIDs on SIP
by conxtel - 05/22/20 08:58 PM
SV9100 CP20 Question
by erniejoey - 05/22/20 11:41 AM
Magix positive telco disconnect
by Brian A - 05/21/20 05:54 PM
Nortel CICS 10 call log
by Droptop - 05/21/20 02:35 PM
Who's Online Now
8 members (phonman123, Skunky, dexman, Rok1215, morephones, RATHER BE FISHING, nortelvoip, ChrisRR), 106 guests, and 33 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics93,717
Posts635,850
Members49,286
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
kevitosc, MJK
Newest Members
nikauri, Darrel Mullins, fleming23, AKP, Oso Rojo
49285 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
Bob-o 14
hbiss 9
Ruben 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners