Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#20717 11/20/08 07:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,208
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,208
hello again. i have a customer with at&t 4 line sets. they have dsl on line one. the icm dont work. when i take off the dsl filter they will work. seems the icms use a digital signal and the filter wont let it pass. is there a solution other than putting line 2 on the first line and line 1 on the third line and filter the third line.

Linked Banner to your Product or Website
#20718 11/20/08 07:25 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,314
Likes: 2
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,314
Likes: 2
They don't use a digital signal, merely RF. You might want to try using a single DSL filter (sometimes called a splitter) on that line at the NID. I assume that you are using filters on each phone.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#20719 11/20/08 07:51 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,609
Likes: 1
Member
****
Online Content
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,609
Likes: 1
I've seen this. As Hal states put on a splitter, also these phone don't recommend the use of the 1st line for DSL just for this reason, it the first line that's used to communicate between the phones.


Retired phone dude
#20720 11/21/08 06:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
you could also swap lines one and two on the phones


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
#20721 11/21/08 12:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,208
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,208
well they have 2-line filters so im thinking of putting the dsl line in the line 3 position and the line 2 in the line one position. it is a nonprofit place. maybe someone will donte a system! thanks dave

#20722 11/21/08 01:25 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,314
Likes: 2
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,314
Likes: 2
well they have 2-line filters

Yeah, so get rid of them like I said. That's your problem. If they won't spring for the few bucks a splitter costs MAKE one from one of the filters you take off the phones, a couple of surface jacks and a short line cord jumper. Take the DSL line off the NI directly, then line 1 through the filter then to all the phones.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#20723 11/21/08 01:30 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,005
Likes: 2
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Online Content
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,005
Likes: 2
Davetel -

Remove all DSL Filters from the phones, fax machines, etc.
Disconnect all wiring for line 1 at the demarc.
Plug in a "Y" connector to line 1 at the Demarc.
Plug in 1 DSL filter to one side of the "Y". Replug all house wiring to the filter.
Run a cable to the DSL Modem from the other side of the "Y".

Problem solved.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
#20724 11/21/08 01:32 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,314
Likes: 2
Member
***
Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,314
Likes: 2
Sam, you type faster than I do. :toast:

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#20725 11/21/08 07:11 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,005
Likes: 2
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Online Content
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,005
Likes: 2
Hal -

I got you by what? 90 seconds? That's got to be a record.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"

Moderated by  MooreTel, skip555 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
How to subscribe to get full access.
by Ruben - 05/05/21 09:29 PM
OS UNI Card Version Question
by RM SYSTEMS - 05/04/21 04:53 PM
summit 100 no lines working
by davetel - 05/01/21 05:11 PM
MICS caller ID
by bditech - 04/30/21 05:57 PM
How do I edit my posts?
by Schreiber - 04/29/21 11:07 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums93
Topics94,373
Posts639,627
Members49,454
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
LEGRANDS COMMUNICATIONS, odin5
Newest Members
Andrea Sau, eos90066, Sonic, ERA, Mackino
49,454 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Global Test Supply
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 42
pvj 16
Ruben 14
bditech 11
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
28 members (newtecky, hbiss, Ruben, RATHER BE FISHING, Curlycord, Touch Tone Tommy, justbill, dexman, CyberLaw, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, KRRath, gelehu, pvj, Silversam, hitechcomm, Daniel, JBean3329, MooreTel, metelcom, BobRobert, Skunky, dougster, Bob3470, ffej010, ssdr9163, Professor Shadow, Yoda, Mercenary Roadie), 364 guests, and 74 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
vpnproxymaster
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners