Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#20852 12/02/08 06:51 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 788
Phil Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 788
I have a customer who has two fax machines, both connected to the same line. They use the front machine for sending, and the back machine for receiving. The back machine is a Sharp UX-A1000, which has a digital answering machine built into it. Whenever another place sends a fax to this particular number, the back machine receives it just fine. But - whenever they try to send from the front machine, it winds up on the back machine. Since they are on the same line, I can't figure out why it is doing this. Does anyone have any ideas about what I need to check? Sure would be appreciated!


Phil

SCCE, TTA, CTP
Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
#20853 12/02/08 06:59 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,330
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,330
Likes: 3
It hears the CNG tones on the line and picks up. That's so you can connect it to a voice line and it will pick up automatically after you pick up a phone when another fax calls. There should be a setting in the menu to disable the function.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#20854 12/02/08 07:06 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 788
Phil Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 788
Thanks, Hal - I will check that out when I go back on site this afternoon. I thought it was set as an answering machine at first, but when I checked that out, it appeared that it was, indeed, set to be a fax. So I need to disable that setting - would that be called polling, by any chance?


Phil

SCCE, TTA, CTP
#20855 12/02/08 09:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
if that doesn't work a exclusion device would do it

something like this viking item we used to install a lot of these in dial up modem days


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
#20856 12/03/08 06:39 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 788
Phil Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 788
I think I found the problem with the fax machine in the back warehouse. There is a setting called "fax signal receive" that needs to be turned off. If it is turned on, the machine sits and listens for any fax tones on the line, which includes fax tones sent from the other fax machine. I'm going over there this morning to turn it off, and test. Thanks, guys, for your responses! Skip, I have used those little TG-1 devices in the past - they do work!


Phil

SCCE, TTA, CTP
#20857 12/03/08 07:04 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,256
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,256
Hey Skip, I got lazy and used these most of the time. They cost a little more, but they were so easy to install it was worth the money.


Richard
AVAYA-NORTEL-SAMSUNG-PANASONIC-MITEL
www.acceleratedtelecom.com

Moderated by  MooreTel 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,620
Posts635,851
Members49,588
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Droop, Linda Utley, lorenlee91, Lorenzo, olyaby
Newest Members
TommyKay, 電信小吳, Partswatch, kevinocious, Chipperh
49,587 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 10
Toner 7
dans 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 6 guests, and 25 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5