Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Good Morning everyone. To begin with I know nothing about NEC equipment - I am a Samsung dealer.

Here's my situation - I have a friend who has an NEC Elite IPK, his installing interconnect has closed their doors. He has a telephone (DTerm 80 - DTH-16D-2(BK))that stopped working on Sunday. All the display states is "Initalizing", I have moved that phone to a different port - same thing. I have also taken a different phone & tested the original port and everything came up find so I believe the phone is bad. Am, I correct with that assumption? If so how do I get it repaired, it has a date code of March 2006 so I would assume it's still under warranty.

Thanks -Tom-

GA
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,646
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,646
contact NEC sales they can advise you of dealers in the area and may give you the info on obtaining a RA for warranty but I suspect they will want a authorized dealer to verify the problem first


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Thanks Skip

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
By default NEC IPK has a Maintanance set up to 4 hours. That means if was no call made into or out of the system during 4 hours the IPK goes into reset and all phones will show "Initalizing". there are two ways to solve that problem: Reset or wait. Sometimes just one or two ports would do the same thing. Usually it is on the same ESI card. Pull the card and push it back in with power up. I noticed that most of the time it is heppaned on ESI(E), expension 8 port cause of bad crimp for the jack or cause the jack itself.

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,439
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,439
press [feature] button then the number '3' on any working display phone and you will get the software version of the CPU. Any version lower than 1.02 had a problem with the phones getting stuck in 'initialize' and you had to power the ksu off/on to clear the trouble, but it would come back.

There is a free upgrade covered by NEC to clear this trouble. Should be available from ANY NEC dealer.

As previously mentioned, I would also turn off the system refresh timer in program 1-8-11.

D


Moderated by  DrPbx, ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Old Equipment Plan
by MarkAtLMFJ - 03/05/21 04:41 PM
OS 7400 OAS
by John807 - 03/05/21 04:21 PM
Pair location
by backenhiemer - 03/05/21 10:44 AM
Coaxial Cable
by dexman - 03/04/21 03:53 AM
Netlink or CCIS
by Yoda - 03/02/21 02:32 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,285
Posts639,096
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
ciccotelli, esinoob, Michael M
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 28
Ruben 24
pvj 11
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
23 members (sundance, EV607797, backenhiemer, newtecky, Coral Tech, hbiss, nortelvoip, justbill, dexman, Bob3470, kjwiewall, jeffmoss26, PortlandTech, Touch Tone Tommy, Mercenary Roadie, Professor Shadow, nfcphoneman, JBean3329, Ruben, hitechcomm, RM SYSTEMS, nameless, Memphisribs), 258 guests, and 40 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners