EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
vpnproxymaster
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Turn your commission checks on autopilot with 50% RECURRING COMMISSIONS!
Flexibits
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing with Getresponse
Get leads. Get sales. Get growing. [2]
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#247909 10/13/11 02:38 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
We inherited a NEC Elite 192 Phone system that was pulled from a working environment but has been sitting in a box for the past 9 months.

Don't know much about these systems, but this is what is in the box.

CPU Slot - CPUB800-U10
Slot 1 - COIB8-u30
Slot 2 - Empty
Slot 3 - ESI8-U10
Slot 4 - Empty
Slot 5 - Empty
Slot 6 - Empty
Slot 7 - Empty
Slot 8 - FMS(2) - U30

System seems to turn on and CPU Card has 1 solid LED and 1 Blinking LED. COIB and ESI cards have 1 blicking LED each. VM Card has several LEDs on.

Phone tech that came out today to hook up our lines to the phone said is wasn't working and he wasn't familiar with the NEC. He hooked up the 66-block and I've tried to check both Port 1 and Port 3 with a NEC DTP-32D Telephone attached to the first block and phone never lights up. we went down the blocks and still no go.

Not sure if the unit is completely dead or if there is a way to test the cards, any help would be great!

Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,332
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,332
If it's been dead for 9 months the database may be corrupted due to the small green/ blue colored battery on the CPU card dieing.
I would unplug this battery when the system is off and repower it again. It should reload the system default. You will need to contact an NEC service company to do some reprogramming especially the voicemail ..


Regards,

Paul W
Now back to a 0 day week. Love these 7 day weekends.
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,439
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,439
Pretty sure there should NOT be a solid light on the CPU unless it's in the process of booting up.

** Warning ** This will default all of the previous programming in the PBX:

Turn the system off, remove the battery strap by pulling the small plastic plug towards you, then power the system up.

Sounds as though the CPU is locked up.

A decent NEC tech probably could have reprogrammed the entire system in less than an hour.


D

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 945
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 945
What Pins were you connectng your phone to?
COI=Line card,ESI=Station card, ESI is in Slot 3, Port one would be The (YL-OR) pair.
The Lights on the COI and ESI should be Flashing, Check the SW on the front of the VM card should be set to Run.
ô€€€ AMP1 is connected to S1, S2, and S3.
ô€€€ AMP2 is connected to S4, S5, and S6.
ô€€€ AMP3 is connected to S7 and S8.


"The Only Stupid Question, Is the Question Thats not Asked."
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Sorry, I somehow tried to change my email address and wasn't able to login. Created a new account.

Dogart, according to the Hardware Manual, the LEDs are both in Normal Operation mode. I did remove the battery strap and still no luck.

Rickman, the amphenol cable is attached to AMP1. I was told pair 1-4 was for CO and that Digital starts at pair 9 - 16 and analog 17-20. So would pair 9 be the first station? I don't see a YL-OR pair on the block. Would it be Station Cable DTU or ETW. That's the only thing I haven't tried to switch yet. Been using DTU (Green/Red) on the jack but will try ETW (Black/Yellow) on Monday.

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Just thought of this, will a DTP phone work with this system?

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 189
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 189
PM sent

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 945
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 945
Port 01 for the digital will be pair 17, there is no analog, you have a COI8 skip 8 pair, Blank slot skip 8, analog would require an SLI card, DTU Tip Ring, ETW is for The Older style phones that come from the EPII.


"The Only Stupid Question, Is the Question Thats not Asked."

Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,431
Posts639,814
Members49,470
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
DavidRM, Doodle, Evgeny_Russia, jwcdawg, Majestic, WJSimon
Newest Members
AndreLS, JimLafleur, EssKayKay, xmestedex, PhoneGuy007
49,469 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 13
hbiss 4
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
15 members (newtecky, Curlycord, nortelvoip, Silversam, justbill, jeffmoss26, hbiss, sundance, BrianS, pvj, Professor Shadow, RUSS K., teldata1, JBean3329, BobRobert), 137 guests, and 56 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud