Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
Hal, you have to look in Tech Specs within each model.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 106
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 106
I have two Toshiba's on my desk at the moment. A friend dropped them off and asked to please 'de-vista' them, which is a hugh pain in the a$$ when the sata drivers are not included on the XP cd, had to make a custom install disc.

For the usb serial converters, try to avoid the Belkin ones, I had a problem with a Cisco router and the converter couldn't pass the break character. I have one made by Prolific and it works great, I haven't found a program that doesn't work with it.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
hbiss Offline OP
Member
***
OP Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
Hal, you have to look in Tech Specs within each model.

I do but Dell sure doesn't make it easy. After you told me and after some digging I see now that the D530 does have a serial port. I actually have an older Latitude C540 with Win 2000 that has one.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
They certainly do not make it easy smile
Then again, that's why it's Dell.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,630
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,630
Hal,

I don't know of a latitude model that does not come with a com port. I have had them all from the C400 to my latest the D620. I only buy Latitudes because of the com port. Never had any issues. Oh...and I have been running Vista with no problems for over a year now, on both my Dell's


Z-man
Avaya SME Authorized Partner
www.omniofficetech.com
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,419
Likes: 1
Check this out if you hate Vista smile


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
hbiss Offline OP
Member
***
OP Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,333
Likes: 3
Great!

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 631
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 631
Have a look at the HP 6820s. It does not have an RS232 port but a USB to RS232 adapter is readily available. If you buy it through the business resellers it comes shipped with an XP OEM CD. You can then downgrade to XP and later on go back to Vista Business. You have to download a lot of drivers after the install as they do not supply these on CDs. I have a CD though with all of the drivers I can mail to you. No need to go Dell, other manufacturers will support XP.

https://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/us/en/sm/WF06a/321957-321957-64295-321838-89315-3442856.html

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 204
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 204
I have been using a Gold-X GXMU-1200 USB to RS232 Converter for almost a year now and it works great.

The Gold-X uses IRQ addressing instead of Windows system calls, so it works with older DOS based programs.

I had to switch to the Gold-X so I could use my laptop with software like the Comdial DX-80 and the Toshiba Stratagy voicemail use.

It works great and I haven't had any problems at all.

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 930
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 930
You can always wipe out the hard drive and start over with XP. Thats what we are doing. Of course we have a volume licensing aggreement that allows up to put XP on all of our pc's. We have a Image with XP in it.


ATTITUDE: It takes 43 muscles to frown, 17 to smile, and 3 for proper trigger squeeze.
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  MooreTel 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,738
Posts636,407
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
aaronazatian, bg6214, Jigger, mkpgt, willtech
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 8
jsaad 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Toner), 33 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5