web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
OP Offline
Hey Folks, Hoping to get some insight into this problem I had with an Adtran HDSL circuit. The sucker has got a new doubler, new smartjack, and no apparent cable issues. Not even any bridge tap (I NC'ed it to cable and the cable tech found it had already been cut off). Anywho.....it always passes QRSS yet it will fail 1 in 8, all0's and all1's. BUT it seems to pass one of these 3 patterns, then fails the next intermittently.I gave up and patched to the spare. I'm new to specials (4 months) but I've never seen this before....any ideas?

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Spam Hunter
Spam Hunter
All 1's will stress-test a repeater. So it could be bad if you get failures with it.

QRSS isn't a very stressful pattern like the other ones are, so seeing no errors when testing with it isn't unusual.

Failing All 0's and/or 2^20 could indicate something is optioned AMI rather than B8ZS.

I Love FEATURE 00
OP Offline
like I said, new doubler, new smartjack. Could it be the office repeater, even though it test ok?

Online Content
You said you patched to a spare. Is it good on the patch? If so something in your original circuit is bad.

Like Dex said failing all 1's indicates a bad repeater. The only thing all zero's should be used for is confirming B8ZS. Change the repeater and test again.

I don't know what the 1:8 pattern is for.

QRSS was used to simulate real T-1 traffic and was low stress as Dex pointed out.

Retired phone dude