Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Simple networking problem ... but can't figure it out!
#263691 08/18/07 10:52 AM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 35
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 35
Hello everyone:

We had some major renovations in our school's library over the summer, and right now, I'm rewiring everything for computer. Everything has been fine until I ran into a problem this morning, and for the life of me, a solution is not coming to my mind, because I'm not sure what the problem is. Here's the situation:

1. Cat5 cable begins in the basement via patch panel, and goes up to the library.

2. I terminated the cable and put a data jack on the end of it, then mounted it in a surface mount box.

3. When I plug a straight-through cat5 cable into the jack, everything works great - can brose the Internet, an IP is assigned via DHCP, etc. This tells me that the jack is working fine.

4. The next step was to take a straight-through cable with one end in the jack, and plug the other end into a Dell PowerEdge 2324 24-port switch. I have a light showing link and status.

5. When I try to plug a PC into any port on the switch, it can't find the DHCP server, and I get the "limited or no connectivity message".

6. I also tried a Linksys 16-port workgroup switch (I know that this one works for sure), and got the same results.

7. I know that a crossover cable would provide no help here, but for grins, I made one and tried that on both switches as well - no dice.

What on earth am I missing here? I did this very same thing in a few offices, and everything went as expected; am not sure why this is causing problems. Any help or pointers would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time!

-Michael/AdemcoWisc

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: Simple networking problem ... but can't figure it out!
#263692 08/18/07 03:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Member
*
Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
What is this plugged into in the basement? Are you in an uplink port? what port on the Dell switch are you plugged into from the wall?

Re: Simple networking problem ... but can't figure it out!
#263693 08/18/07 04:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 345
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 345
First question is what WRichey asked. What type of switch are you plugged into and what port. uplink, standard, Auto uplink?

Are you getting a link light on the switch when you plug it in?

Have you hard coded a port to be 100mb full duplex or is it auto negotiate.

some times there is a problem with negotiation between switches.

Next would be how many switches do you have plugged into the one down stairs already?

5 or more/ 5 or less.

In some intances it can cause issues.


All In One Communications
Mustang, OK
Re: Simple networking problem ... but can't figure it out!
#263694 08/18/07 10:49 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,260
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,260
Also, try disabling the NIC card in the control panel and then re-enabling it. I have to do that sometimes with my laptop when I plug into different switches.

Re: Simple networking problem ... but can't figure it out!
#263695 08/26/07 05:14 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 530
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 530
If either of your switches do not have auto negotiate built in then you must use the uplink port on one of the switches (not both) or build a cross-over cable.


Samsung Dealer
www.firstcoastbiz.com

Moderated by  tito1411 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Vodavi Starplus DHS Unusual Events
by ABLE1 - 09/30/20 01:56 PM
WebRTC
by Coral Tech - 09/30/20 01:50 PM
SV9100 CP10
by teldata1 - 09/30/20 12:31 PM
SV9100 Software
by teldata1 - 09/30/20 11:41 AM
7100 Lan Printer Error
by RM SYSTEMS - 09/28/20 02:27 PM
Who's Online Now
31 members (newtecky, hcotech, Bushmills, Ruben, Daniel, JBean3329, justbill, Temperor, Bob3470, Touch Tone Tommy, ABLE1, BobRobert, Yoda, RATHER BE FISHING, Comm.1, tim10, LenShustek, Professor Shadow, hitechcomm, Canteleco, gelehu, Coral Tech, vicbob, dans, teldata1, Hofman telekom, metelcom, MooreTel, Skunky, nortelvoip, EV607797), 566 guests, and 59 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,979
Posts637,378
Members49,357
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
sandi ann
Newest Members
Hanale, xware, Adam19871, tmr-afmk, Big Alan
49356 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 32
Ruben 13
hbiss 13
ABLE1 12
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Sold AD
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners