Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
DX80 Expansion
#37351 08/16/07 06:41 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 172
RUSS K. Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 172
I need to add an expansion cabinet to a DX80. Found out that it is discontinued, and tried everywhere to find one. Two different people I talked to, told me that you can use a DX120 expansion on a DX80. The sold stuff to people to do it. I know that they are very similar, but don't want to open a can of worms. Tried to email TS @ vertical for their answer, but haven't heard anything yet.

Has anyone tried this yet?


RUSS K.
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
Re: DX80 Expansion
#37352 08/16/07 07:29 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,268
Moderator-Allworx, Nisuko-Tie, Vodavi
Offline
Moderator-Allworx, Nisuko-Tie, Vodavi
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,268
Try H.E.B. in Indiana. https://www.hebusa.com/
Hoosier Equipment Brokers

Re: DX80 Expansion
#37353 08/16/07 07:30 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Offline
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
They are very rare. I need one now!

Re: DX80 Expansion
#37354 08/17/07 03:44 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 172
RUSS K. Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 172
I tried HEB. Like jwooten, I need one too, now!


RUSS K.
Re: DX80 Expansion
#37355 08/17/07 09:53 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 900
Retired Moderator
*****
Offline
Retired Moderator
*****
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 900
I have a new one in the box I'll trade for 3 new Rev 1D or greater Edge 120 phones.

--Bill.

PS: I also have one that needs a power supply. I pulled it out for a dead DX-80 cabinet.

Re: DX80 Expansion
#37356 08/17/07 10:53 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Let us know if you get an answer. This may be like the DSU expansion, where Comdial discontinued the expansion module, and then came out with a document that said they supported putting a DSUII expansion on a DSU. If the 120 expansion works on a DX80, they need to come out and say so, so we know of a valid and supported migration path that doesn't involve a "forklift" change-out.

Justin

Re: DX80 Expansion
#37357 08/17/07 06:02 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 900
Retired Moderator
*****
Offline
Retired Moderator
*****
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 900
I found another new one that I had sent in to be upgraded from F12 to F15 firmware. I can let it go too.

Re: DX80 Expansion
#37358 08/17/07 07:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
I confirmed with tech support that, although you MIGHT be able to make it work (no confirmation), a DX120 KSU2 is not supported by Vertical to go on the DX80 expansion. The person I spoke with had also heard that they were in pretty short supply from the various supply sources. He also understood how it was pretty poor to have to go back to a customer whom you told bought a system that supported 16x48x8 that they now had to do a forklift change out in order to support the expansion to get to the promised capacity of 16x48x8. Taking away a touted (marketed by the manufacturer) migration/growth path is just not right!

Re: DX80 Expansion
#37359 08/18/07 11:34 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 900
Retired Moderator
*****
Offline
Retired Moderator
*****
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 900
The firmware revision on the DX-80 is F15. This applies to the mainboard on the base and the expansion cabinet. Also the SLT card is F15. The earlier F12 expansion had problems with the F15 main cabinet and vice versa.

On the DX-120 the revision on all three is F18. Traditionally you need the same firmware throughout on TECOM products. I haven't tried it yet but why bother? The main cabinet cost is relatively low when purchased in packages. Replace the DX-80 cabinet with a 120 and expand it. Since all the old cards may be used the cost is relatively low. Put the DX-80 in inventory for service on other DX-80s. The only minor issue is the old PC8 voice mail but if you know what you're doing it can easily be set up for the DX-120.

--Bill.

Re: DX80 Expansion
#37360 08/18/07 08:44 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Offline
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
The down side to going 120 is the SLT port availability.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Avaya IPO
by bditech - 09/17/20 09:07 PM
Browser phone
by Coral Tech - 09/17/20 01:10 PM
Univerge Hosted
by brokeda - 09/17/20 10:44 AM
Manager Upgrade issue
by ffej010 - 09/17/20 03:06 AM
Fax on SIP
by mfecko - 09/16/20 03:36 PM
Who's Online Now
27 members (Hofman telekom, Curlycord, EV607797, Corrupted DNA, hbiss, Carl Navarro, Professor Shadow, Yoda, Bob3470, hitechcomm, teleco, Touch Tone Tommy, jeffmoss26, ffej010, C5Z, pbogi, gertter, steve2653, BobRobert, OBT, justbill, JBean3329, bditech, RATHER BE FISHING, Mercenary Roadie, RonP, nfcphoneman), 444 guests, and 53 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,945
Posts637,204
Members49,345
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
azrael4854, Jig, Shell
Newest Members
Rob McKay, s0397, Craypaz, Wisconsin Confer, apc
49344 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 30
teleco 12
Ruben 9
hbiss 8
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners