Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#37552 09/07/07 07:12 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 171
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 171
DX120 with a PRI. Is it possible to take a number coming in on the PRI and reroute it to go back out to another external number?

GA
#37553 09/07/07 07:40 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 900
Retired Moderator
*****
Offline
Retired Moderator
*****
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 900
Manually program ext forwarding to the number you wish at the station set. Then program a key as F26. When you press the key it will toggle ECF on and off.

--Bill.

#37554 09/07/07 01:07 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 194
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 194
And don't forget to "Allow ECF" at the station programming level for that extension.

#37555 09/07/07 06:32 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Good luck with that. smile

(What was suggested will work; I'm not disputing that.)

#37556 09/07/07 07:43 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,160
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,160
C'mon Justin, but what?

#37557 09/07/07 08:03 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Sorry to sound sceptical. I've not had great experiences with putting PRI and T1 on DX120, and the ECF thing, and the limitations in sending a call offsite, just because you have what should be a more capable circuit, are just quirky and disappointing. When you have an easier time doing offsite transfers and ECF with analog lines than with PRI or T1, that's just odd, and I consider to be an engineered limitation that shouldn't be there.

#37558 09/09/07 10:13 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 900
Retired Moderator
*****
Offline
Retired Moderator
*****
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 900
5years, I completely disagree with your analysis of this. I have a large number of DX-120 systems with PRI and none of them have any issues with line related features. ECF has worked flawlessly on all the systems. My sales staff uses this as a major selling point.

While I can't comment on this application with T1 since I have none installed, with the PRI the outside party doesn't even realize the call has been transferred and there is no loss of volume like you would have on analog circuits.

Frankly I'm amazed at how well the PRI works considering it's limited programming and application on a low end system. TECOM has, in my opinion, done well.

--Bill.

#37559 09/09/07 03:41 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Bill,

You are more than welcome to disagree (that goes without mention). You have far more installs upon which to base your success than I have to base my lack thereof. I can only base my comments on my experiences, and so far they have not been great.

As for the ECF, while I agree it works, when compared to options available to a base DX80 or DX120 configuration, it's lacking in capability, when it comes to being able to transfer and forward calls offsite, both live and via voicemail. Both of those functions are much more easily accomplished with analog lines than with PRI/T1 on the DX120. This is simply due to some things not being thought thryu very well on the design of the DX120. There's definitely room for improvement there.

#37560 09/10/07 07:29 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 900
Retired Moderator
*****
Offline
Retired Moderator
*****
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 900
I would be curious as to what issues you are having. The ECF with PRI sets up exactly the same as analog lines. Maybe there is a simple solution to the difficulties you are experiencing.

--Bill.

#37561 09/10/07 07:38 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,545
It's not an issue with ECF. ECF works as it's supposed to. It's the fact that you can't do trunk to trunk on PRI or T1, which forces to you use ECF in a work-around situation, where you wouldn't have to do that with analog lines, because trunk to trunk can be done on both systems when using analog lines.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Netlink or CCIS
by Yoda - 03/02/21 02:32 PM
SX200 ICP & ASU Bad ports
by Barrontel - 03/02/21 03:15 AM
NEC SV8100 Inmail Utility
by Sam Juniper - 03/01/21 11:02 PM
IP office and routing calling groups
by High Mesa Communications - 03/01/21 10:56 PM
Samsung pro star dcs
by bditech - 02/28/21 09:51 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,281
Posts639,023
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
burkie, Gregg Hothem, HarryLeeSmith, Hey Mike, Pingebri, rroelfs
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
Ruben 21
pvj 11
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
33 members (advanced, Ruben, dans, Harry76, BJW86, Daniel, Yoda, hbiss, Steve Layton, Touch Tone Tommy, nonameyet, joshuacook, Iwatsu Guru, barnito, justbill, dexman, High Mesa Communications, KRRath, Professor Shadow, nortelvoip, Canteleco, jknichols, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, mongo5150, vicbob, HutchComm, MooreTel, metelcom, BobRobert, Carl Navarro, FoneJacker, Skunky, sundance), 544 guests, and 40 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners