Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#40087 11/18/08 01:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 40
lwruk Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 40
We have a hub and three satellite Comdial phone switches with a shared voicemail system, all connected via PRI cards over point to point circuits. I believe the communication is clear channel.

I am just curious if anyone has two or more Comdial switches communicating over a PRI via MPLS and NOT a dedicated network. Our users have grown accustomed to the luxury of extension to extension dialing within the network, and having voicemail information displayed on their phone. I want to migrate to the MPLS network offered by AT&T, but there appears to be some hesitation on the part of the Telco and the switch vendor as to whether it's possible.

TIA!

Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
#40088 11/18/08 03:47 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
It will be no problem but you will need new cards. The point to point T-1 cards will not work. you will need network IP cards.

Speak to your comdial dealer.

Jim


Jim Hoey

SST Communications
597 West Montauk Highway
Lindenhurst, New York 11757

631 956-0100

www.sstcom.com

Business telephone systems on Long Island and New York City like Comdial, Vertical, Avaya, Panasonic
#40089 11/20/08 06:02 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 40
lwruk Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 40
By network cards, you mean cards that will support VoIP, right?

#40090 11/22/08 08:35 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
Yes that is what I mean. You will not be able to use the T-1 cards you are now. Also you will need a new software key to activate the IP stuff. Are you a Comdial dealer? If not you will need one to do this project. Let me know how it goes.

Jim


Jim Hoey

SST Communications
597 West Montauk Highway
Lindenhurst, New York 11757

631 956-0100

www.sstcom.com

Business telephone systems on Long Island and New York City like Comdial, Vertical, Avaya, Panasonic
#40091 11/24/08 05:50 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 150
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 150
We've done a number of these and they work very well with the VOIP boards.

#40092 11/26/08 09:10 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,550
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,550
One thing that was left out (unless my memory is failing me). If these are not FX series systems or MP5000's (in other words, if these are DXP or DXP Plus), the only method for networking is via PRI NET boards. So what model systems are these that you're talking about?

Justin

#40093 11/27/08 05:10 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 40
lwruk Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 40
I discovered that of the 4 comdial switches I have, I would need to replace two of them just to get this to work. I guess I am cancelling this project.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,639
Posts635,913
Members49,591
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
There are no members with birthdays on this day.
Newest Members
INFORMACOM, TVCTech, joe angi, TommyKay, 電信小吳
49,590 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 8
Toner 7
dans 6
Yoda 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Yoda), 29 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5