Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
czar Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Hi,

I'm a newbie on Samsung. Apologies for the long

Our company bought another company. We are using Alcatel and the other company uses Samsung OfficeServ 100.

We cutover over the "new company" to our lan last month. They were previously using a different private ip address and now they are using our existing lan private ip address.

I was assuming that the only changes required on the samsung pbx, was to change the mcp and mgi ip addresses (both private) and assign a new public ip.

For the mcp, it is now using mcp.priv.ip.x; the mgi is using mgi.priv.ip.y; the pbx is assigned a public ip of pbx.pub.ip.z.

The phones inside the lan are working without any problems. However, there are 2 remotes home users that use 5021D. Before the cutover, both remote phones are working. After the cutover over, the remotes phones do not work anymore.


In their previous setup, they were using ISA (from Windows SBS 2003) firewall. From the ISA firewall setup, I made similar rules on CheckPoint R55.

I know the firewall rules work because I used another 5021D at home and it works OK (can dial out/in, and have audio both ways) even behind a double firewall.

I finally was able to make remoteA phone to work on Monday last week. However, suddenly on Wednesday, there's no voice/audio (it can dial in/out).

For remoteB phone, I have not been successful to make it to work since the cutover. It can connect to the pbx but that's it (can dial in/out, but no audio/voice).

So, I ran a packet sniffer and found out there are many "udp port unreachable" messages for udp port 30000 (I believe these are the udp return ports up to 300031).

icmp: mcp.priv.ip.x udp port 30000 unreachable for pbx.pub.ip.z.60018

On the firewall I can see connection on ports 6000/9000. But no voice.

I understand the following udp ports are required: 6000, 9000-9001, 30000-30031. I used nmap to verify if these ports are open or in listening state. None of them are. Following are the ports found by nmap (ver 2.42).

mcp.priv.ip.x:
1720/tcp
5000/tcp
5001/tcp
5002/tcp
5003/tcp
5100/tcp
5101/tcp
5102/tcp
9876/tcp
5060/udp
7000/udp

mgi.priv.ip.y:
21/tcp
23/tcp
1024/tcp
69/udp
1025/udp
1028/udp

What do I need to do to put ports 6000, 9000-9001, 30000-30031 in to listinening state. Where can I check if those ports are open/listening state?

Many thanks.
czar

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 530
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 530
First do a manual cold boot on the phone switch. What version is the MCP/MGI? Make sure you program the MGI with a keyset onsite or with an IP phone. MGI's seem to get flakey when programmed with OSM.


Samsung Dealer
www.firstcoastbiz.com
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
czar Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Hi,

Thanks for replying.

Following are the versions
MCP - V2.37
MGI3-8 - V3.56
SCP - V1.02

As for the cold boot, I did that before and with no effect. But, I'll give it another try.

Just for confirmation, I did another test at home last night/this morning, still ports 30000 and 300001 are unreachable.

ta
czar


Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,745
Posts636,435
Members49,622
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
cTopher, djmoutt, ffej010, Kenneth J McLean, telephonegunner, Tellink
Newest Members
noriod45, Levi1337, jackbeelerDCS, blentz, RockyTop
49,622 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
blentz 6
Toner 5
jsaad 5
dans 4
Who's Online Now
2 members (SamF, nortelvoip), 26 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5