Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
I am having a great deal of trouble with IP Phones on our system.

After a recent major network change I needed to move the phone system from one network to another. I changed the system IP, MGI card IP via the installation tool software and then the SVMi via a hyperterminal console session. I then physically connected the phone system to the new network and re-set each IP phone with the new server IP address, subnet mask etc. Each IP phone connects to the server and each is correctly identified by the system. However, if someone uses these phones to call another digital phone, they can hear who answers but cannot be heard. If they call another IP phone then they work perfectly. Outside calls behave as digital phones.

i have tried just about everything I can think of. Any ideas?

The system type is 7200, software version 07.10.31 V4.14. The IP phones are ITP-5114D

Thanks

Mark

Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 574
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 574
You didt have a new extnl ip address did you and the right ports are open
also can you ping the mcp card plus the mgi card
and also did you reset the 7200 when you did the changes

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
HI Gerrya,

The system doesn't us an external IP address.

I can ping all 3 new addresses. (The main system, MGI and SVMi)

I have reset the system quite a few times now.

I am not sure what you mean about right ports being open.

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 457
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 457
Are the ITP phones on the LAN or WAN side of the network?


Bobby Mreen
Communications Technician
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Hi bmreen,

All in a LAN. The system is deployed in a school. We have mixture of IP and digital phones. It all worked fine prior to me moving from one network to another. I have also discovered that if I set the QOS to disable and the re-enable it, and restart the system the phones work fine for about 4 or 5 minutes and then revert to the behaviour i described above.

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 457
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 457
Be sure in the phone system you have the system and the phones set for the correct enviroment private,public w/firewall,public ect...


Bobby Mreen
Communications Technician
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks for everybody for your help.

I am now planning to kill a technician who "accidently" gave a printer the MGI card IP. Once the printer was changed, everything worked beautifully.

Cheers

Mark


Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,739
Posts636,410
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
David Gillish, jkdawsey, kitjr123, MP Telecom, stephen1905
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 9
jsaad 7
Who's Online Now
3 members (jacktel, BobRobert, Curlycord), 56 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5