Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Clearing Unused Cable in underground Conduit
#446477 08/23/07 06:10 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
I was called out to pull a 25 pair cable and a CAT5E cable from the demarc into the customers suite. (Roughly 50') When I arrived I noticed the conduit from the Demarc to the suite already had a 25 pair cable and 3 6 Pair Shielded cables squeezed into this 3/4 conduit. I tried to pull the 6 pair cables out but couldn't move them. With no other option I tried to pull a Cat5 cable through so they could get their T1 terminated but unfortunately the cable snapped 42 feet into the pull. mad (No I can't get that CAT5 cable back out - it won't budge)

Any suggestions on how to clear that conduit? There is no other underground conduit going into that suite.

- Tom -

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: Clearing Unused Cable in underground Conduit
#446478 08/23/07 06:44 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,232
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,232
I had good luck hiring Roto Rooter to come out and run a snake through a pipe with a 25 pair that was stuck in it. The snake managed to wiggle the 25 pair around enough to break it free. It didn't even damage it. This was a 1-1/2" pipe though; I don't know if they can go that small with a sewer snake.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: Clearing Unused Cable in underground Conduit
#446479 08/23/07 08:27 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Thanks Ed, I was thinking the same thing but besides the size of the conduit, it appears the GC installed plastic flex conduit down the wall at least 5' and connected it (hopefully) to the rigid conduit going out to the demarc. I would be really worried about tearing the flex loose.

- Tom -

Re: Clearing Unused Cable in underground Conduit
#446480 08/24/07 05:38 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,232
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,232
Yeah, I know what you mean. One thing that I forgot to mention was that the Roto Rooter guy ran his cable through WITHOUT any kind of head attached; just a 3/8" cable. The twisting and movement was enough to break the existing cable free.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: Clearing Unused Cable in underground Conduit
#446481 08/24/07 06:03 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,646
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,646
why do you need cat5 for the T1 ?

why not use existing cable ?


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
Re: Clearing Unused Cable in underground Conduit
#446482 08/24/07 08:20 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 99
The CLEC is requesting a CAT5 Cable.

I have no idea whether the 6 Pair cables are CAT5 or CAT3. If I can't clear the jam I'm going to tell them they will have to make do with the 6 Pair Shielded cable. Let's say hypothetically it's CAT3 - will the customer or CLEC experience any issues with that T1?

-Tom-

Re: Clearing Unused Cable in underground Conduit
#446483 08/24/07 08:27 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,232
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,232
You won't have any problems for that distance, especially if it's shielded. To play it safe, use one pair on one cable for transmit and one pair in another for receive. I have gotten away with much less stringent measures before with no adverse effects.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: Clearing Unused Cable in underground Conduit
#446484 08/24/07 08:33 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,973
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Online Content
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,973
A Greenlee (or equivalent) cable puller (Super Tugger) will pull almost anything in our out of a conduit. If you're unfamiliar with them - get someone who knows how to use them to do it - they can be VERY dangerous in inexperienced hands.

However if the conduit is not fastened properly it will be pulled apart.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Re: Clearing Unused Cable in underground Conduit
#446485 08/24/07 09:02 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,646
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,646
I thought t1 only required cat 3

thats all Ive ever provided


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
Re: Clearing Unused Cable in underground Conduit
#446486 08/24/07 06:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 68
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 68
The T1 goes for miles on CAT-nothing. I've got locations with 200+ft between the NIU and the equipment and it's all CAT3 with no problems.

Then again who are you to care about what goes in the pipe? They didn't call you for your opinion, they called you to put in the wire laugh laugh CAT5 won't hurt, so put it in and your customer is nice and happy.


-Robert F
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Professor Shadow, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Harris TS44 Buttset keys 4, 5, and 6 not working
by Mercenary Roadie - 09/22/20 03:34 AM
Omega 924 extension assignment
by Keyset6 - 09/21/20 08:06 PM
Call Forwarding to VM
by ALB300 - 09/21/20 02:24 PM
Unisons to give away
by RUSS K. - 09/21/20 01:52 AM
Who's Online Now
34 members (hbiss, Professor Shadow, Yoda, LenShustek, ffej010, dexman, RATHER BE FISHING, nortelvoip, STS E, Touch Tone Tommy, Coral Tech, steve2653, teldata1, ChrisRR, JBean3329, gelehu, slips007, Carl Navarro, hitechcomm, ChevyFanAttic, justbill, Artorevs, Ruben, katbutters, nfcphoneman, ChrisNI, Bull Tone, BTS01, KRRath, Bob3470, jab1780, metelcom, Gary S., Silversam), 509 guests, and 73 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,958
Posts637,271
Members49,349
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
B & B Communications, commo23, mikedphones
Newest Members
selflawyer, crazy88, Ray Mar, NKol423, Rob McKay
49348 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 34
hbiss 14
teleco 12
ABLE1 7
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners