Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
ty-raps & Cat6
#446950 09/09/07 02:49 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,200
Admin
*****
OP Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,200
Silversam asked about using ty-raps on Cat 6 cabling in the pic thread and I thought it might be a good discussion as this is the first I have heard ty-raps can't be used. So whats the scoop? What do you use? Also be nice to know what other devices are being used for securing and anchoring wires.


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built in the last 10 years don't expect it to work right.
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: ty-raps & Cat6
#446951 09/09/07 02:51 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,389
Member
*****
Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,389
J-hooks instead of bridle rings, for example Caddy CAT21 and CAT32, and velcro ties instead of nylon tie wraps.


Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
Re: ty-raps & Cat6
#446952 09/09/07 04:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 826
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 826
That is correct, hook and loop (velcro) fasterners are to be used in place of tie wraps now. This is because tie wraps can be tightened to the point where they deform the cable. It's the same idea as with a kink in the cable, it's enough to cause a pair to untwist somewhat at the point where the cable is deformed.

I'll still use tie wraps in some areas. If you don't overtighten, and don't support the weight of many cables with a tie wrap, you won't have a problem. For anything visible at the backboard/rack, I try to stick with only velcro.

Re: ty-raps & Cat6
#446953 09/09/07 05:17 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,697
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,697
I've read a fair amount on the topic and they even wanted no tyraps or staples used on Cat 5, let alone 5E or 6.

I still use tyraps, but just tight enough to hold them. Staples as well, but very sparingly and only if there's no other way. I haven't needed to install cat 6 yet though.

Dave


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Re: ty-raps & Cat6
#446954 09/09/07 06:10 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,973
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 4,973
I don't have a current copy of the EIA/TIA standards (at about $1,000+ a copy that shouldn't be a surprise), but everything I've read for the last umpteen years has said no tyraps.

I have seen with my own eyes a job where exposed cable (also a no-no) was stapled to the wall and the staples caused the cable to fail - and that was Cat5 - not even 5E.

I have installed Cat 6 and Cat 6 screened (foil shielded) and it's a pain. Also HUGE -all conduits and raceways have to be oversized to handle multiple runs. Real fun.

But really guys - thank heavens for this constant "need" for customers to upgrade their cable - look at all the work it's gotten us!


Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Re: ty-raps & Cat6
#446955 09/21/07 02:10 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,173
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,173
The no-tiewrap general rule is there because of installers placing thin cable ties around wires and cranking them down tight. Wide, quality ties (Panduit) that are just finger tight are fine .. unless the account specifically requests velcro.

Re: ty-raps & Cat6
#446956 09/21/07 05:48 AM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 34
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 34
I agree, I use velcro on all data cabling installs...

Re: ty-raps & Cat6
#446957 09/23/07 09:28 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Speaking of velcro, where can I get some cheap? I is really pricey to use throughout entire run. I only use velcro when I reach the patch panel and switch area. It looks excellent. Otherwise I use Arlington loops, J hooks, and if it's 3 cables or less tiewraps.


Best regard,

Ozzy

Moderated by  Professor Shadow, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Avaya IPO
by bditech - 09/17/20 09:07 PM
Browser phone
by Coral Tech - 09/17/20 01:10 PM
Univerge Hosted
by brokeda - 09/17/20 10:44 AM
Manager Upgrade issue
by ffej010 - 09/17/20 03:06 AM
Fax on SIP
by mfecko - 09/16/20 03:36 PM
Who's Online Now
27 members (Hofman telekom, Curlycord, EV607797, Corrupted DNA, hbiss, Carl Navarro, Professor Shadow, Yoda, Bob3470, hitechcomm, teleco, Touch Tone Tommy, jeffmoss26, ffej010, C5Z, pbogi, gertter, steve2653, BobRobert, OBT, justbill, JBean3329, bditech, RATHER BE FISHING, Mercenary Roadie, RonP, nfcphoneman), 444 guests, and 53 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,945
Posts637,204
Members49,345
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
azrael4854, Jig, Shell
Newest Members
Rob McKay, s0397, Craypaz, Wisconsin Confer, apc
49344 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 30
teleco 12
Ruben 9
hbiss 8
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners