Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 5 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
RIP Moderator-Mitel, Panasonic
Well, if you are speaking of the amp connector that was originally developed for 1A2, or some other use, and wound up being the basic default connector on most electronic key systems and PBX's, yes the tool to terminate them is clunky. BUT, I'll bet can terminate 25 pairs in one amp connector in 15-20 minutes today and I haven't done it in 10 years! I used to do an amp connector in under 10 minutes with the 3M 'foldover' tool. That includes setting up the machine, opening the connector pack, and prepping cable. Heck of a lot faster than scotchloks for high pair counts! And I'm no cable pro, that's for sure! I'll bet there are people on this site that can turn out finished connectors in 3-4 minutes! John C.

When I was young, I was Liberal. As I aged and wised up, I became Conservative. Now that I'm old, I have settled on Curmudgeon.
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
No, these are AMP's "Picabond" connectors, used largely for small pair count OSP cable splicing. The breakaway version is often used when cutting in load coils.

There is no reason they can't be used for any splicing, but they can't be used without the proper tool. There is the standard hand crimper, or for larger splicing operations, there is a full rig that uses connectors in cartridges. Either way, these things aren't like beanies or Scotchloks where you can cheat and use pliers.

Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX