Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#473849 01/04/06 01:16 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,699
Likes: 7
Member
****
OP Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,699
Likes: 7
This is some informative reading for those interested in grounding/bonding practices.

https://www.psihq.com/iread/strpgrnd.htm


Retired phone dude
Atcom VoIP Demo
Get a VoIP Demo Today
#473850 01/04/06 04:57 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,330
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,330
Likes: 3
I can't find a thing wrong with it. This is a good reference for anyone with questions about grounding.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
#473851 07/07/09 12:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 213
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 213
Okay, this has been an ongoing discussion....On a Aerial/Burial twisted pair cat whatever, 6 pair to 25 pair, do you or do you not ground the sheith. I have always been told to ground the blue aluminum sheith. Any old telco guys out there that could tell us the proper way to ground a Burial.

Thanks

#473852 07/07/09 01:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,329
Likes: 8
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,329
Likes: 8
Wow, what a deep search.

Ernie, if a metallic cable sheath is present, you always bond it to the local building grounding electrode. In order to do this properly, you have to use a proper sheath bond clamp, not just peeling back the aluminum and clamping onto it with a wire like many people do.

In a case involving a pedestal splice, the sheath (and the metallic pedestal housing) should be bonded to a ground rod.



Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
#473853 07/07/09 02:21 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,031
Likes: 2
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,031
Likes: 2
We would put protectors on both ends of the cable (Used to be Gas at the CO/PBX and Carbon at the station end, but with electronic sets that's probably changed to all Gas).

We used a 2 piece clip - I can't for the life of me remember the part number. It was about the size as the first two joints of your little finger and was pointed with teeth. The bottom piece slipped under the sheath between the aluminum and the cable and the top piece went on the outside of the poly. The two pieces clamped together with a nut and a ground wire was run to a (grounded) protector.

I'll quote from the GTE Practices 605-100-100 Issue 3 July 1979. Cable Bonding & Grounding Joint & Nonjoint Construction

301 "The shields of all cables entering a CO building shall be bonded together and grounded to the CO ground busbar.."

7.01 "The shield of all cables entering (customer) buildings should be grounded at or within the building entrance ..."

I tried to scan the GTEP but it's in an oversized book and not easily done.

The drawings show the cables entering the CO and having all the sheaths bonded and grounded. Then they hit the protectors which are also bonded and grounded. When they leave the protectors they are bonded and grounded again and then they proceed to the MDF. Minimum ground wire size is #6. Separate lugs for each connection to the MGB.


Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
#473854 07/07/09 02:22 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,031
Likes: 2
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,031
Likes: 2
So, while I was putzing around, Ed was there with the right part. :thumb:

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
#473855 07/07/09 02:32 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 971
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 971
We called em Bullet bond


-TJ-
#473856 07/07/09 03:13 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,699
Likes: 7
Member
****
OP Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,699
Likes: 7
I thought we pinned this. Evidently not.


Retired phone dude
#473857 07/15/09 10:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,550
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,550
Ed, I just tried that link, but it didn't work.

Justin

#473858 07/16/09 12:29 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,722
KLD Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,722
Justin, it goes to 3M but the product page is not there.

There are several variations of the "clamp" but call your local Graybar and they will have it or similar. I used to say North Supply but no more.

Good Luck.


Ken
---------
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  EV607797 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,629
Posts635,879
Members49,589
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
Abcomm, n1cn0c, nicnoc, reataylor
Newest Members
TVCTech, joe angi, TommyKay, 電信小吳, Partswatch
49,589 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 10
Toner 8
Yoda 5
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (dagwoodsystems), 2 guests, and 9 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Best VoIP Phones | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5