Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#475038 03/11/11 09:15 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Did a quick google seach and getting overwhelmed, and can't find what I'm looking for.
Need ot head out on another job ASAP and need thos info "yesterday". So I will beg my coherts to do my leg work.

Apartment complex. (6 unit buildings)
25 pair direct buried "air core" cable.
Cable severed.
Only 3 dial tones where entering the building of which I scotch locked through as a quick temporary fix.
Need to know a part number to look for the splice kit. The splice is above ground. needs to be no more than 10" in lenght if at all possible.

Thanks in advance


[Linked Image from i26.servimg.com]
TouchPoint Networks.

Serving the Northwest Since 1991
NEC Shoretel Zultys T3 Tadiran
Atcom VoIP Demo
VoIP Demo
#475039 03/11/11 09:20 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,346
Likes: 10
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,346
Likes: 10
A small pedestal will do. I would recommend a BD-3 from Emerson Network Power (formerly Reliable), but the height is about 30". They do make smaller ones that are designed to house CATV taps that are much shorter.

HERE IS A PICTURE


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
#475040 03/11/11 03:30 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
I was thinking more of a boot style. This is right next to the foundation. Turns out it isn't as urgent as I was led to believe, I will research when I get back into town. Thanks


[Linked Image from i26.servimg.com]
TouchPoint Networks.

Serving the Northwest Since 1991
NEC Shoretel Zultys T3 Tadiran
#475041 03/11/11 07:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,346
Likes: 10
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,346
Likes: 10
How about a buried splice, like a 3M BB 2X24? It is a bit of overkill, but you could also use one of their 89XX series kits. Most supply houses have access to these as well.

TAKE A LOOK


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
#475042 03/15/11 09:42 AM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,367
Thanks for the reply,
I ended going with This


[Linked Image from i26.servimg.com]
TouchPoint Networks.

Serving the Northwest Since 1991
NEC Shoretel Zultys T3 Tadiran
#475043 03/17/11 02:39 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,630
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Nortel
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,630
That should work fine. Just make sure they give you the right size. Also, when you are splicing the pairs, use the small version of UY scotchlocks.


Z-man
Avaya SME Authorized Partner
www.omniofficetech.com

Moderated by  EV607797 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,739
Posts636,410
Members49,615
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
David Gillish, jkdawsey, kitjr123, MP Telecom, stephen1905
Newest Members
AMS Technology C, Chrontel, RonZ1971, Michael1948, lllDez
49,615 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 9
jsaad 7
Who's Online Now
3 members (jacktel, BobRobert, Curlycord), 62 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Phone Systems | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5