Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,314
Likes: 2
hbiss Online Content OP
Member
***
OP Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,314
Likes: 2
Probably something I should ask my insurance agent but some of you guys do security and might know.

I suggested an IP camera to a customer (a womens shelter office) together with a doorphone and electric strike. They want to monitor who is outside a street level door which they cannot see from their office positions before letting them enter.

At their suggestion this may grow to more than one camera in order to let them see if there is anybody lurking outside on either side of the door who may sneak in behind the person granted access.

So now I'm wondering if I would need additional insurance and would be considered a security installation company because I install CCTV.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,722
KLD Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 5,722
Hal,

Similar situation here but no camera....just door access boxes and latch releases....checked with my insurer...mine had a all-inclusive for "electronics" as long as I was not the reported-to center that would notify responders.

But your policy may be different due to local laws.

Good Luck.


Ken
---------
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,039
Yep, it depends on the laws in your State.

In Texas you don't need to be a licensed security installation company to install cameras in some situations but you do in other situations.
It all depends upon the purpose of the camera. And it's somewhat of a gray area at best, depending on who's interpreting the law.

If the camera is at a door, as in your situation, you don't need a security license. Although an argument could be made that it is for security purposes.

But if the camera is to prevent theft, such as a camera above the cash register in a convenience store, you must be a licensed installer.

One factor to consider is whether or not a recorder is going to be used. If there is a recorder then it leans toward being a security camera. No recorder leans toward a non-security camera.

There now, it's as clear as mud isn't it? laugh

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,473
Hal,
I've done lots of NJ installation for Surveillance. Nobody ever asked for License unless it's tied up to security system and put on Monitoring with Police. So, you can go ahead and Install it and do recording on HDD.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,268
Moderator-Allworx, Nisuko-Tie, Vodavi
Offline
Moderator-Allworx, Nisuko-Tie, Vodavi
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,268
We operate like vad60 here in Illinois. As long as there is no monitoring with a company or police---we can install. If there are alarms or monitoring involved---then we would have to have a license.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,314
Likes: 2
hbiss Online Content OP
Member
***
OP Online Content
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,314
Likes: 2
Thanks guys. I do know that in at least NY the sparkies were assessed more money a few years ago for their insurance because the insurance weasels figured out that they install smoke detectors. These are just plain old smokes in houses that are not connected to anything but each other. So that's what got me wondering, especially since the expanded system could result in somebody getting hurt if it fails to show everything.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 43
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 43
Hal,

My concern would be the same as yours, the failure of the camera to display everything (frozen picture) and someone getting hurt. Do they plan on recording the data also because then it gets even stickier with discovery issues if there is an incident.

PS, i am on the other side of town from you.


Moderated by  metelcom 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
How to subscribe to get full access.
by Ruben - 05/05/21 09:29 PM
OS UNI Card Version Question
by RM SYSTEMS - 05/04/21 04:53 PM
summit 100 no lines working
by davetel - 05/01/21 05:11 PM
MICS caller ID
by bditech - 04/30/21 05:57 PM
How do I edit my posts?
by Schreiber - 04/29/21 11:07 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums93
Topics94,373
Posts639,627
Members49,454
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
LEGRANDS COMMUNICATIONS, odin5
Newest Members
Andrea Sau, eos90066, Sonic, ERA, Mackino
49,454 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Global Test Supply
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 42
pvj 16
Ruben 15
bditech 11
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
www.aweber.com
landing page builder
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
24 members (CyberLaw, Curlycord, gelehu, dexman, pvj, Silversam, justbill, hitechcomm, Daniel, JBean3329, MooreTel, metelcom, BobRobert, Skunky, Touch Tone Tommy, dougster, Bob3470, ffej010, ssdr9163, Professor Shadow, Yoda, Mercenary Roadie, hbiss, nortelvoip), 282 guests, and 78 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
vpnproxymaster
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners