Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Executone 3672 troubleshooting question
#49072 09/05/07 01:39 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
I work at a small college that has a Contel Executone 3672 phone system installed. It's been there since the early 90's. This morning, all the phones in the building started ringing at the same time. When you pick up the handset all you hear is a lot of "high-voltage" static. I have reset the system several times, cleaned the various components, etc. but nothing has worked. Everytime I turn the system back on, all the phones start ringing continuously. My question is this: What's the best way to troubleshoot my problem? Should I be looking at replacing the ring generator unit or the DC/DC Converter or something else? Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Re: Executone 3672 troubleshooting question
#49073 09/05/07 02:19 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,037
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,037
My guess would be the DC/DC Converter. It's been so long...someone else will jump in and I will grab my book when I get home tonight and check back.

Re: Executone 3672 troubleshooting question
#49074 09/05/07 04:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,235
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,235
The DC/DC converter has test points on the front face. Check them with a good digital voltmeter. The +5 volts DC is perhaps the most likely culprit since it affects the processor and IC's directly. I seem to recall that there is a screw-type adjustment that can be made but please be very careful in turning it, as in fractions of a tick while you watch the meter. If anything, try adjusting it downward first to get a feel for the sensitivity of the adjustment process.

If that doesn't have any positive effect, chances are that you will need a new DC/DC card. That's about the only thing that fails in those systems and it's usually due to excessive heat. You may also want to try leaving the cover off and even pointing a fan toward it to see if there's any change in behavior. Fortunately, I don't think you will have too much trouble locating a replacement since that was quite a popular system.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: Executone 3672 troubleshooting question
#49075 09/06/07 06:54 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
I metered the front test points and I'm getting 3.8 v on both the +5 and +14 ports. When I try to change the +5 adjustment screw, there is no change whatsoever in the voltage reading at either test point. I'm assuming from this that the DC/DC board is shot. I guess I'll check ebay.

Re: Executone 3672 troubleshooting question
#49076 09/06/07 08:16 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,235
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,235
Please don't check e-bay for something like this. PM sent.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Re: Executone 3672 troubleshooting question
#49077 09/07/07 08:53 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
I have a new DC/DC converter installed and still have a problem. When I turn the system on and meter the test points, I'm getting 14v on the +14v test point, but only 2.2-3.6v on the +5v test point. Is this correct? Turning the adjustment screw causes all the relays in the system to click like crazy and then the +5v led gets real dim. Maybe something else could be the problem? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Executone 3672 troubleshooting question
#49078 09/07/07 09:39 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,508
Admin
****
Online Content
Admin
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,508
I would say that is out of tolerance, in skimming through the manual I didn't find the tolerances. It looks like you got the plus 14, I think I'd put a meter on it and start pulling packs to see what's dragging it down. Do all your testing from the blocks so as to eliminate any possible cable problems. Your voltage should be close to 5.


Retired phone dude
Re: Executone 3672 troubleshooting question
#49079 09/07/07 09:45 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,508
Admin
****
Online Content
Admin
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,508
Found the tolerances in section 801, your only allowed 1%, which would be about .5volts. I'd check them all while your at it to see if everything in within specs.


Retired phone dude
Re: Executone 3672 troubleshooting question
#49080 09/07/07 09:57 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
I just detached the ring generator unit and now the system meters perfectly. I'm thinking a power surge may have damaged the RGU. Sound possible?

Re: Executone 3672 troubleshooting question
#49081 09/07/07 11:08 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,508
Admin
****
Online Content
Admin
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,508
Anything is possible, that's why I suggested what I did. See if other features are working without the ring generator.


Retired phone dude
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  nonameyet, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Search
Most Recent 5 Post
Caller ID and Panasonic PBX/VMS & ATT
by DonaldR - 09/25/20 01:42 PM
Comdial DX-80 Voicemail Routing
by perryldonald - 09/25/20 12:48 PM
Separate day/night schedules on TDE100
by EV607797 - 09/25/20 03:29 AM
TDA50 and the law
by dtel - 09/24/20 06:45 PM
DTMF digits echoing
by Keyset6 - 09/24/20 03:25 PM
Who's Online Now
21 members (justbill, EV607797, perryldonald, Yoda, DonaldR, jsaad, ABLE1, RM SYSTEMS, BobRobert, MooreTel, metelcom, hitechcomm, Skunky, LenShustek, Bob3470, pvj, Mercenary Roadie, nortelvoip, ChrisRR, dexman, cswroe), 229 guests, and 58 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics93,969
Posts637,306
Members49,354
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
Laura Figueroa, mark dagg
Newest Members
Adam19871, tmr-afmk, Big Alan, simsh, bencahill
49354 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 34
hbiss 12
teleco 10
ABLE1 9
Bluewater Sailing
https://www.patreon.com/bePatron?u=5256033
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Servpro Ventura 24-Hour Emergency Service
Free Estimates call us now 24Hours
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2020
Trusted Partners