Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#51011 09/23/11 04:09 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
kestep Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
I am helping with an Executone Medley system. The system was installed in an office and working. The system was moved to a new office. Three extensions no longer work.

I have verified the 66 block wiring, and tried a known working phone connected directly at the block. The phones did not work at the block either.

When I connect a phone to a working port I get an immediate reaction on the phone display and it comes up in a few seconds. When I connect to one of the non-working ports, I get nothing.

Given other issues seen at the install site, I'm concerned that these extensions could have been initially miswired.

Has anyone seen issues with failed ports?

Could it be a programming issue?

Any other ideas?

Thanks in advance!

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 186
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 186
Yes you can have bad ports wires may have shorted
out. If you need ports you can change the card.
Juno

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
kestep Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks Juno.

So the ports are on a replaceable card?

Or do you have to swap out the main board?

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,576
Likes: 1
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Offline
Moderator-ESI - Executone
*****
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,576
Likes: 1
How many port cards are in the system? the cards are all the same, 4 lines ,8 digital, and 2 analog( but) the analog ports will only work on the card in the First slot.


I can see the light at the end of the tunnel..

Retirement 2019 ( It has happened )
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 280
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 280
Maybe the amp to the cabinet is wired wrong? Or card came loose during transport?


mjc
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 526
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 526
or the tail isn't seated tight to the card...... cards are swappable just not hot. Hook a PC to the DB9 port and dump a copy of the database to the PC so you have a paper copy of the program before you start moving cards around. This will save you a TON of frustration if the system gets defaulted
Randy

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
kestep Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Quote
Originally posted by nonameyet:
How many port cards are in the system? the cards are all the same, 4 lines ,8 digital, and 2 analog( but) the analog ports will only work on the card in the First slot.
I guess it only has the one card: 4 CO lines and 8 digital ports.

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
kestep Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Quote
Originally posted by mc601:
Maybe the amp to the cabinet is wired wrong? Or card came loose during transport?
I'll double check the card. I did check the wiring and it appears to be correct.

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
kestep Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Quote
Originally posted by MVSpeed:
or the tail isn't seated tight to the card...... cards are swappable just not hot. Hook a PC to the DB9 port and dump a copy of the database to the PC so you have a paper copy of the program before you start moving cards around. This will save you a TON of frustration if the system gets defaulted
Randy
Excellent point. I'll give it a goo next time I'm there.

If I have a copy (dump) of the config and we have to replace the system with another, can the config be uploaded to the new system?

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 280
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 280
No cannot reload have to program with phone or PC


mjc
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  nonameyet, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,968
Posts637,421
Members49,704
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
Today's Birthdays
audiology, instauratio, md110guru, Nathan Smolek
Newest Members
Acme Finishing, jim gray III, Merenth, Service Tech 911, Stephen A
49,703 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
vvbasti 11
Toner 9
mfecko 7
jsaad 6
Who's Online Now
4 members (JBean3329, hitechcomm, Curlycord, pvj), 131 guests, and 29 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5