Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#571024 04/30/14 03:00 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 58
smithdj Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 58
We have recently took on a new data customer and now they are asking us to support their existing UC540. We are not a Cisco shop, and honestly don't want to become one. With the research I've done, I know that the system has reached End-of-Life and Cisco is recommending that existing customers upgrade to a new product line. Apparently, the previous vendor (no names to protect the unscrupulous)billed and collected for service/maintenance contracts and licensing with Cisco. We found out yesterday that the contracts\licences were never purchased through Cisco. He basically just collected the money and never purchased the support. The customer is working with Cisco to get current support. My ultimate goal is to convince the customer that a new system would be better suited to their needs in the future. In the short term they are asking us to provide as much support as possible, the immediate issue being changing button programming on the DSS keys.

So all that to get to this... Is this system managed via a web browser or with a administrative program? Do we need to be Cisco partners to get the needed software, if any?

Don't want to loose the customer but, if they are in love with Cisco, I may have to tell them to look elsewhere for support.

Thanks in advance.

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 169
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 169
You will need to get your hands on the CCA (Cisco Configuration Assistant). Pretty sure you will need a Cisco account to d/l the software. Its clunky, but for changing what you are looking to change its pretty easy.

Current version is 3.2.3


Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 169
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 169
Here is the link, but again you will need a Cisco account, though the company you are dealing with may have one already.

CCA 3.2.3


Last edited by Keep; 05/01/14 07:34 PM.
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 58
smithdj Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 58
Keep,
Thanks for the help. We were able to set up an account with Cisco and get the software downloaded. And, like you said it was pretty simple to make the changes.

Again thanks for the help.

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 169
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 169
No problem. Glad you got it sorted out.


Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 58
smithdj Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 58
Keep,

So I was able to download the CCA and make the changes requested by the customer. Today she asked if I would take a look a the Voicemail to email notification. When I try to connect it tells me the device is "unsupported device". Any ideas? My first thought is that the original vendor has changed the login creditials.

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 58
smithdj Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 58
Keep,

So I was able to download the CCA and make the changes requested by the customer. Today she asked if I would take a look a the Voicemail to email notification. When I try to connect it tells me the device is "unsupported device". Any ideas? My first thought is that the original vendor has changed the login creditials.

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 169
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 169
maybe,maybe not.

On the machine you have CCA installed. Open your browser and type in 10.1.10.1 that should be the VM IP if it has not been changed.

You should see a log in screen. I find it easier to work on the VM through this instead of the CCA. Once you login you will need to go to:

Voicemail - Message Notification - subscriber notification management

Once there - find the user name you want to enable email for and enable notification. You will need to click the username after that to set up the email address.

If you are using MSexchange you will need to setup a new receive connector on the ms exchange server (under hub transport), or it will not allow it to send.

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
The thing about the UC540 is that while Cisco will only support units installed/maintained by CCA, a great many installers use the command-line interface. And it is my understanding that once someone has started making changes outside of CCA, using CCA can cause problems.

If CCA previously allowed you to make changes to the UC540, but now says it is unsupported, making sure you're on the latest CCA (just in case you're using a different PC/install of CCA this time around), and if that still doesn't work I'd suggest power-cycling the UC540 and trying again.


Moderated by  5years&counting 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,367
Posts634,553
Members49,523
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
Alexander Innard, Allen Wesley, junipered, plunger, TELCO_PC_MAN
Newest Members
FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines, sossel, Devon Capman Sr
49,523 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 24
dexman 12
Ruben 7
R4+Z 6
teleco 5
Who's Online Now
6 members (hitechcomm, nfcphoneman, Toner, Curlycord, nortelvoip, Yoda), 17 guests, and 8 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5