Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#572439 05/30/14 05:32 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
mj_wald Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
Our IS department is pushing to have all XP computer removed.

Has anyone tried upgrading a MAS from XP to Win7?

Can I just drop in a WIN7 upgrade disk? Something says no, but..


mj_wald #572464 05/30/14 09:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,610
Likes: 3
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,610
Likes: 3
I imagine there will be many more questions about this.
Just as an FYI, Microsfot does not have a direct upgrade path from XP to Windows 7.
"To upgrade your PC from Windows XP to Windows 7, you'll need to select the Custom option during Windows 7 installation. A custom installation doesn't preserve your programs, files, or settings. It's sometimes called a "clean" installation for that reason."

It would appear to me that you would be doing a fresh install of Windows 7, then install all the required software and drivers. Best case I would think it would take many hours to complete.

From a previous post it appears phonemeister has done this.

If it is a Micromas, Toshiba has upgrade packages. Depending on the version you may be able to use an upgrade kit that includes all the software preinstalled on a new hard drive. The Mas systems also have an upgrade kit available.

I don't know how much these upgrades cost, but how much is your hourly rate plus the price of Windows 7? To me this seems like a better way to go.

mj_wald #572542 06/02/14 05:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
mj_wald Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 627
Thanks much, did not realize you could not make a jump from XP to 7.

Now that I really get looking, a lot of our MAS's are not even going to cut running 7, just not enough CPU in them.

mj_wald #572579 06/03/14 05:30 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,271
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,271
I was able to do it on a micromas but not the 1U or 2U MAS because of the hardware limitation. If you have an R3 version of the 2U MAS then there is an upgrade path supported by Toshiba.


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,378
Posts634,603
Members49,525
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
djone21, glacier37, Supert8ch
Newest Members
NiagaraGuy, Luv2uallday, FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines
49,525 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 20
dexman 10
R4+Z 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (Rusenga D), 8 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5