Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#572700 06/05/14 08:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
I am getting too much incoming calls stuck in the menu of our phone system. I am using a Strategy VM Manager 1.11. I see the phones stuck on a call, but it never goes to an extension and with our 800 number, the minutes cost so much.

It's for a Toshiba Strata DK 424, Strategy card. Again, I am using Strategy VM Manager 1.11 (graphical) and I don't see any option of a timer or limiting the loops of the greeting.

From a manual I read online and user mailbox I have, 990 is for greeting, and 991 is the menu, but again I don't see anywhere in 991 to limit loops.

Thanks,

Jen

Jennyfer #572701 06/05/14 08:38 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,037
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,037
There are many contributing factors in the designing of a telephone systems call flow. The calls that ring into your auto attendant are usually put through enough in having to listen to the various selections and then taking time to choose or time out to a operator destination. If the calls are just sitting there then there are a few timers and settings that can be adjusted by a certified Toshiba technician, these are not for an administrator or end user to tackle.

If you would complete your profile its possible a technician in your area will PM or reply here and be able to work with you to resolve this and any other problems you might be facing. Believe me I do understand that 800 services cost a company dearly and the sooner you can get this corrected the better, the savings alone will mostly pay for the service call.

Jennyfer #572704 06/06/14 01:11 AM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,608
Likes: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,608
Likes: 2
From a design prospective, there should be no loops. The caller should terminate somewhere. If calls are looping, then the auto attendant needs to be reprogrammed.


Jennyfer #572729 06/06/14 07:27 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
newtecky, how would I reprogrammed the auto attendant?

Jen

Jennyfer #572734 06/06/14 10:40 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 122
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 122
The done chain for 991 should be 999, it is in groups and chains. If you are prompting people to stay on the line for assistance that could be a problem, if they press nothing after the done chain timer is expired in 991 it would go to 999 and play " thank you for calling, good bye" and hang up.

Jennyfer #572836 06/09/14 04:04 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
I have User ID 999 as System Administrator User ID.

Jennyfer #572848 06/09/14 06:40 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,608
Likes: 2
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,608
Likes: 2
That is correct, but use 999 for Chain done in 991 to disconnect the caller.

If you want the phones to ring an extension first, set chain done on 991 to an extension (200 for example), then set chain done in that mailbox to 999. The idea is the last step should hang-up so you don't get these loops.


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,375
Posts634,588
Members49,525
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
apexnetworks, blpogue, Hillyard, Silversam
Newest Members
NiagaraGuy, Luv2uallday, FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines
49,525 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 17
dexman 12
R4+Z 6
Who's Online Now
1 members (justbill), 6 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5