EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Daily Excellence
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#572813 06/08/14 10:41 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 86
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 86
HI
I have a big problem with an IP Office 500.
On two occasions I have turned up onsite for the fault of both 8DS cards suffering complete failure. This was following power outages. All other cards including the PRI cardsd sitting on top of an 8DS unit are OK. On my second visit I installed a new UPS but it has now happened again! Both 8DS cards blown again!
I am thinking something may be wrong with the Avaya chassis or the power unit?
Or maybe it is just the building's unstable electric supply to blame?
Customer trying to say it MUST be the system so we have to pay for all the visits and faulty kit.
I am about to change the whole unit and see what will happen next.
After that I have to hope the cards blow up again!
Any ideas? Is there any known history of the 8 dig cards being problematic or whether the chassis or Avaya PSU could be causing the problem?
Thanks
Mike Zatomic


Mike
Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,829
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,829
to me if its protected with a good ups i would probably looking a hardware issue

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,110
Likes: 2
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Online Content
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,110
Likes: 2
Change the unit and cards. Just the bad cards.

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 814
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 814
Are there any analog pots daughter cards on the DS cards in question?

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 86
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 86
Hi Nebraska( great movie) thanks for answering... yes the pot ports work ok as well as the PRI daughter board.


Mike
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 814
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 814
I would put some protection on the incoming POTS lines. Possible that something is coming thru them and zapping your base cards.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 251
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 251
First off I am NOT an Avaya guy, but are any of the digital stations off premise? Sounds to me like the surge is coming into the dig ports. I have seen this on an IPO that had several buildings connected with cable with no bonding. Kept blowing the station ports until they finally protected them.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,464
Posts640,037
Members49,482
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
ack714, Marky, Mobidoy, Tony the Phoneman
Newest Members
Matt L, Goracing57, Michael Duffy, Jim22, hummerdave
49,482 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 35
Ruben 8
OBT 5
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
28 members (pvj, Matt L, justbill, JBean3329, hitechcomm, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, metelcom, BobRobert, sundance, Touch Tone Tommy, hbiss, Scott5Rivers, Memphisribs, joshuacook, jab1780, RATHER BE FISHING, Daniel, Professor Shadow, KRRath, sfletcher, BrianS, R4+Z, Yoda, www.telcom1.net, erniejoey, Skunky, 2 invisible), 558 guests, and 33 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud