Phone Systems

Sponsored by Atcom
Get a free phone!
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#572813 06/08/14 10:41 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 86
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 86
HI
I have a big problem with an IP Office 500.
On two occasions I have turned up onsite for the fault of both 8DS cards suffering complete failure. This was following power outages. All other cards including the PRI cardsd sitting on top of an 8DS unit are OK. On my second visit I installed a new UPS but it has now happened again! Both 8DS cards blown again!
I am thinking something may be wrong with the Avaya chassis or the power unit?
Or maybe it is just the building's unstable electric supply to blame?
Customer trying to say it MUST be the system so we have to pay for all the visits and faulty kit.
I am about to change the whole unit and see what will happen next.
After that I have to hope the cards blow up again!
Any ideas? Is there any known history of the 8 dig cards being problematic or whether the chassis or Avaya PSU could be causing the problem?
Thanks
Mike Zatomic


Mike
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,829
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,829
to me if its protected with a good ups i would probably looking a hardware issue

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,179
Likes: 3
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,179
Likes: 3
Change the unit and cards. Just the bad cards.

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 816
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 816
Are there any analog pots daughter cards on the DS cards in question?

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 86
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 86
Hi Nebraska( great movie) thanks for answering... yes the pot ports work ok as well as the PRI daughter board.


Mike
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 816
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 816
I would put some protection on the incoming POTS lines. Possible that something is coming thru them and zapping your base cards.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 251
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 251
First off I am NOT an Avaya guy, but are any of the digital stations off premise? Sounds to me like the surge is coming into the dig ports. I have seen this on an IPO that had several buildings connected with cable with no bonding. Kept blowing the station ports until they finally protected them.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics93,378
Posts634,603
Members49,525
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics (Views)
Today's Birthdays
djone21, glacier37, Supert8ch
Newest Members
NiagaraGuy, Luv2uallday, FredSkidoo, tspa, xtrememachines
49,525 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
Toner 20
dexman 10
R4+Z 6
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 16 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: Business Telephone Systems Canada | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2022
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5