EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Daily Excellence
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#574339 07/08/14 04:48 PM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 18
JTodd Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 18
Hello all, I had a customer call to tell me their entire STS system was down first thing Monday Morning. I went into their office and at STA 100 the first thing I seen on the display was "Okay Sync" message and thats all. Their paging system which is connected to the STS was clicking. I took a voltage measurement of the battery inside and checked that I had a back up of the system prior to resetting the system. This got the phones out of the "OK Sync" message but once it did, they started freaking out. I would get handsfree calls from various stations, constant key tones through the speakers and CO lines would sound like pulse dialing. All the phones throughout the office were doing this by themselves. I Defaulted the system and still had the same issue. I removed all cards and put them in one by one, checking the slot config as I did. With the VM card, DTIB and LCOB with CIDU out the system will work but once I put any of those 3 in it will freak out. I have other customers with STS systems and would like to know if anyone else has come across this issue and what it may be. My customer with the issue is willing to upgrade their system since they have had it for a long time and are a little freaked out about how it was acting. Any input is appreciated.

Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,819
It is a power supply issue. I think it is the -5 volts out of tolerance. I have had this happen two or three times with STSs and KSU replacement is the only fix.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 18
JTodd Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 18
Thanks Derrick that is Good to know. I was wondering if it was a motherboard issue or if it was something with the power since I was able to boot it up and get it functioning without all the cards installed. Glad its working just enough for them to recieve calls and call out and that they are willing to replace it.


Moderated by  EV607797, JWRacedog, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,457
Posts640,016
Members49,481
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
docjim, eddycurrent, FC de Argentina, matts520, NetworkKing, Randy from RACE, Zyeith
Newest Members
Goracing57, Michael Duffy, Jim22, hummerdave, Rusenga D
49,481 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 33
Ruben 9
OBT 5
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
18 members (jeffmoss26, dexman, EV607797, justbill, Carl Navarro, metelcom, sundance, BrianS, mbhydro, hitechcomm, OBT, Silversam, pvj, Professor Shadow, hbiss, Keyset6, JBean3329, 1 invisible), 156 guests, and 143 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud