EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Daily Excellence
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#574569 07/14/14 11:32 AM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 26
Skunky Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 26
where to start... I'm a former IT guy, working in an office, at a city agency in NYC, but we're a "field" office, and thus get very little (read none at all) support.

We've got a dk24 hanging on the wall (well, it says it's a dk24) that I'd really like to have incoming caller ID show up on. impossible, right? But... well, it's not "really" a dk24...

It's currently got in it:
rctua1 (that's a dk280/424 processor, right?)
pdku2
bdku1
bdku1
rcou3
rcou3
pious2

ok, so, it's full. I'd really like to pull one of the rcou3's and add an rcos to the rcou, and free up a slot that I could stick an rciu/rcis in there... but I THINK I need an rctua3 or 4 to be able to drive the rciu and the rcos, and I don't know if a bdku will work on an a3 or a4 processor. I'd eventually like to add an rstu and pull the pious, but that's a project for... later.

They'll eventually take the whole system out and replace it with this horrible IP phone system that falls over and dies a couple of times a day, so the longer I can keep "them" from taking away my 20 year old phone system, the better... and the biggest complaint from my coworkers about the phones is "the new phones have caller id!"

of course, getting verizon to turn on callerid may be a whole other fight, but if I can't make the hardware understand it then it'd be totally pointless to fight that fight... it's much easier to get all my ducks in a row and THEN demand things. smile

Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,271
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,271
The processor needs to be on release 3 or higher to support caller id. Check program 00. The BDKU can be used in the DK (move the jumper) but won't support the BDKS. If you use the RCOU and RCOS you will need the RCIU and RCIS.

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 26
Skunky Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 26
thanks for the sanity check, phonemeister.

program 00 says "VER=RAAX3M" which my programming and admin book says is "RCTUA R1/R2" if I'm reading it right...

so, I'm looking at 1) a processor upgrade 2) an rcos add-on, and 3) an rciu/rcis... hrm. and reprogramming the whole system (it's pretty simple, compared to some of the things described here) I'll have to get all the parts and then wait for a day when nobody else is gonna be here. fun. smile


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,457
Posts640,016
Members49,481
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
docjim, eddycurrent, FC de Argentina, matts520, NetworkKing, Randy from RACE, Zyeith
Newest Members
Goracing57, Michael Duffy, Jim22, hummerdave, Rusenga D
49,481 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 33
Ruben 9
OBT 5
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
16 members (EV607797, justbill, Carl Navarro, metelcom, sundance, BrianS, mbhydro, hitechcomm, OBT, Silversam, pvj, Professor Shadow, hbiss, Keyset6, JBean3329, 1 invisible), 154 guests, and 139 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud