EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Phone.com 300x250
300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud
Global Test Supply
defencebyte.com
Antiransomware
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
Meticore Weight Loss Voted #1.
Daily Excellence
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#574596 07/14/14 06:15 PM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
Been having an issue lately with the Samsung OfficeServ SMT IP Phones losing their connection to the server and just giving a "Connecting to Server" message in the display of the phone. LAN connection is functioning properly, able to get a valid IP address and browse the network and Internet. Power cycle the phone, have run wireshark captures on the server side and can see the UDP traffic coming in from the public IP of the SMT on either port 6000 and/or 9000 for registration and see the server sending traffic back out to the public address. Only way I can get the phone back up and connected is to go into the programming of the phone itself and do a Factory reset then re-program system information back into the phone. Anyone ever have a problem like this?

Global Test Supply 728x90
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
A few questions for you:

1) are the phones on latest firmware?
2) is the system on latest firmware?
3) How often does this happen?
4) are the phones local or remote?
5) What is the network configuration? Any VLAN, etc?

Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
Hey Badger,

Yes, phones are on the latest firmware currently released by Samsung.

System software is V4.75 and OAS cards are on V2.05 (latest releases for the states)

No really set timeframe, just happens randomly but pretty frequent. I'd say at least 2 to 3 times a month.

Phones are remote

No VLANs in use. Has happened with Cisco, Netgear and Sonicwalls on the system side. And many various routers on the phone side. Has happened to my remote phone at my house and we have a Sonicwall TZ215 at the office and I have a Netgear at my house (has also occurred on a Linksys and Juniper installed at my house)

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 655
Member
*****
Online Content
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 655
In the firewall on the remote side, have you allowed for ports 6000, 9000 and 9001 udp/tcp to go through the firewall without interference? I know I have had to set this up for my remote locations and it works without a hitch.

Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
Haven't needed to do that before, but I will certainly give it a try. We didn't really have this problem until the newer software releases, starting around maybe 4.60D.

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,702
Likes: 2
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Online Happy
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,702
Likes: 2
The biggest changes with the new software releases is security, especially 4.65 and later. Do you have your SMTi phone IP addresses listed in the phone White List?


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
I do not. We have Use IP White List disabled under 2.7.1 IPT Information do to the fact that these remote users are DHCP from their carriers. I had that enabled before, and whenever the carrier renewed their public IP, the user had to call us and we'd have to get the new IP information and update the table.

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 89
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 89
We're having the same thing happen, very intermittently on SMT-i3105 sets at one customer. OS7400 V4.70

They have 100+ phones, it happens on about 1 phone every couple months or so. We've found the phones always seem to try to DHCP bind to the same IP address, even on a power cycle, so if the address the phone wants is grabbed by something else or some other change happens in the LAN environment, the phone doesn't come up. Re-running the Easy Install seems to force it to refresh the network settings. Have never had to do the factory reset.

Most of our other SMT sites we define the phones with static IPs and we haven't had the issue. Just can't do that with this site.

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Have you tried to Wire Shark it? I'm learning Wire Shark is my friend when all else fails.
John 807


John 807
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 27
Yes, I have run wireshark on both the server side and the ipt side. I see the packets reaching each device utilizing 6000 and 9000 UDP, but for some reason the phone will still not register. IP addresses in the packets are correct as well for the local IPs. I just don't get it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Genesiscomm, nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums94
Topics94,464
Posts640,037
Members49,482
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
ack714, Marky, Mobidoy, Tony the Phoneman
Newest Members
Matt L, Goracing57, Michael Duffy, Jim22, hummerdave
49,482 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 35
Ruben 8
OBT 5
NordVPN
Advertising Sponsor Spot 2
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
28 members (pvj, Matt L, justbill, JBean3329, hitechcomm, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, metelcom, BobRobert, sundance, Touch Tone Tommy, hbiss, Scott5Rivers, Memphisribs, joshuacook, jab1780, RATHER BE FISHING, Daniel, Professor Shadow, KRRath, sfletcher, BrianS, R4+Z, Yoda, www.telcom1.net, erniejoey, Skunky, 2 invisible), 558 guests, and 33 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners
landing page builder Antiransomware 300x250 Your Business Phone Service in the Cloud