Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
I have read the Inter-Tel Phone Tips dated Sep. 26, 2006 about the 10 digit dialing settings. My system was set to the description. However, I can not make a call to specific numbers in the 2nd area code. These numbers are in the same latta as we are and thus the problem. Numbers outside the latta with the second area code operate fine, inside I can't dial them The phone service we use sees the numbers we dial passing through. They have sucessfully dialed the numbers from there location. They told me to use only 10 digits that the 1 wasn't needed. This does not work for us.

We are using Inter-Tel 8.0002 software.
The Home Area Codes are 803, 843.
The Area Flags are set to: Yes, Yes, No, No, Yes. I did however change it to YYYNY without luck.
Our lines come in over a T1, through a gateway router and broken out into 7 lines. There is no T1 card in the box.

What else do I need to do to accomplish this?

Thank you for any help

GA
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,692
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,692
Hi Bob, and welcome to the board.

A few things come to mind, but before we start digging around in your system, it would be a good practice to isolate the problem to the Inter-Tel switch. Can you take a test set, and go to the trunks where they come out of the IAD and try dialing the 10 digit number from there? If so please disconnect the phone system from that line by pulling the bridge clips and give it a try. If you're still having problems at that point, then we know it's not in the Inter-Tel switch and we can move this thread to another forum.

If you're still having the same problem over a test set then please post back. I'll be out, but RCA usually checks in later since he is on the west coast, and he is a guru.

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks for the responce MacGyver. I have tested the phone numbers on the lines outside of the Inter-Tel switch, they do work. Please advice me on the proper settings to the Inter-Tel box.

Thanks again.

Bob

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 840
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 840
Can you clarify the issue a little?

Are you trying to dial local 7-digit numbers as 10 digit?

Are you trying to dial long distance numbers without the leading '1'?

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
It is a 10 digit number. The dialing plan requires us to dial the area code (different than the local) without the '1'. When I plug a test set up to the demarcation block (outside of the Inter-Tel box), I can dial the 10 digits and the call is successful. Inside, when I dial the 10 digits, only the first 7 are processed and the call “can not be completed as dialed”. The settings inside of the Inter-Tel management software read to me that a 10 digit call should process. Oh, if I use the '1' in either case, the call will not process.
I hope that was clear. The phone number is to the home of the president of our company.
I feel that I am up a creek and I don’t even have the canoe let alone the paddle.

Thanks for any help.

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 840
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 840
OK, so 10 digit local calls.

Go to System\Numbering Plan\Area Flags. They should read: Yes,Yes,No,Yes,No. Go to System\Numbering Plan\Home Area Codes. Delete any area codes listed. Test.

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Ding, ding, ding, thank you that was the answer. In testing I notice it takes longer for the call to process and if I dial the area code for a local call it connects quicker. But I feel a 2 or 3 second delay is worth the ability to complete the call.

Thanks again, great job!

Bob


Moderated by  Stix1 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertising Sponsor
Most Recent 5 Post
Coaxial Cable
by dexman - 03/04/21 03:53 AM
Netlink or CCIS
by Yoda - 03/02/21 02:32 PM
SX200 ICP & ASU Bad ports
by Barrontel - 03/02/21 03:15 AM
NEC SV8100 Inmail Utility
by Sam Juniper - 03/01/21 11:02 PM
IP office and routing calling groups
by High Mesa Communications - 03/01/21 10:56 PM
Popular Topics (Views)
Forum Statistics
Forums95
Topics94,282
Posts639,048
Members49,425
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Today's Birthdays
oldtimer1
Newest Members
Sam Juniper, B Ledford, Jonie4, James Wright, TechnoloJay
49,425 Registered Users
Get Tech Support Now! Click the banner below
Get Tech Support Now!
EMP & Lightning Home Surge Protection
EMP - Click Here!
Top Posters (30 Days)
dexman 23
Ruben 22
pvj 11
Linked Banner to your Product or Website
EMP Shield for Commercial - Home & Vehicle
Use Coupon code SAVE - Click Here!
Who's Online Now
33 members (phonemeister, sundance, byacey, dexman, RATHER BE FISHING, justbill, hitechcomm, Mercenary Roadie, newtecky, BobRobert, hbiss, jeffmoss26, oldpoleclimber, JBean3329, Touch Tone Tommy, kjwiewall, High Mesa Communications, Coral Tech, dans, telecom guy10, Daniel, Canteleco, Ruben, Yoda, nfcphoneman, Joel J., Bob3470, Avidcomm, Professor Shadow, pvj, Biztel Cuban Okie Tech, Carl Navarro, KRRath), 631 guests, and 47 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Custom Island 58
Contact Us | Telephone System Tech Support | Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2021
Trusted Partners