web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
Hi, I'm a long time electronic tech with an audio equipment repair company. We have an NEC Electra Pro system that went down recently. For now we're limping along on cells and a couple of single line phones that are tied to the CO lines.

I think my question is fairly simple, but first some quick background on the problem. We've had our system for many years and it's been quite reliable until last week when it died completely. I saw that the PSU (PSF-H-20) was dead and pulled it out. The main fuse was blown and it showed signs of running warm for a long time but there were no burned areas. I bought a new supply and tested it today. Before the first power up I installed the PSU with 3 DVM's across the OV, -27.3, +5, and -5 sections of the edge connector. (DVM 1 between 0 and -27.3, DVM 2 between 0 and -5, and DVM 3 between 0 and +5.) I checked for shorts, saw none, and powered up the card. -27.3 came up as expected but I was surprised to see that although I got 10 volts between the -5 and +5 pins, I didn't see 5 volts between ground and either of those pins. (I was using little grabber clips, hung off the 90 degree leads of the male edge connector, inside the board.)

I went ahead and powered up, at first with the CPU board only. The voltages were unchanged and after a few seconds the green status LED began blinking. I powered down and reinstalled the other cards one by one, checking each time to be sure that the voltages didn't change. They didn't, but none of the phones came online. No display, no LED's, nothing.